SA student film finalist for Academy Award


The 2013 Student Academy Awards® finalists have been announced and South African
movie Kanye Kanye is in the running as Best Foreign Film. Directed by Miklas
Manneke, who completed his honours in directing and scriptwriting at AFDA (The
South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance) in 2012, Kanye
Kanye is a beautifully crafted work of cinematic art.

“The entire crew is honoured and enormously privileged to be able to represent South
Africa as a finalist at the 40th Student Acadmey Awards. The support from everyone
involved has been truly extraordinary,’ says Manneke.

The 27-minute movie won Best Student Film at the 2013 JFF (Jozi Film Festival)
earlier this year and takes a refreshingly different stance on a South African story.
The movie, also written by Manneke, comes to vibrant life in shades of red and green
and was shot in a township in Walkerville just outside Johannesburg in Gauteng.

Kanye Kanye resulted in community involvement as about 30 houses were painted in
reds and greens and two main shacks were built for the main characters of the movie.
“The world associates townships with poverty, crime and violence, all these bad
things. We looked at showing that people are born there, they learn to live there,
they learn to love there, that is their lives. That is the story we wanted to tell,’ says

Kanye Kanye is a highly original love story that causes a shift in consciousness, an
inspirational and touching cinematic example of how division can be overcome

The finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Student Academy
Awards are:

  • Erbgut (Liquidation) by Matthias Zuder, Hamburg Media School, Germany
  • For Sverige I Tiden (King of Sweden) by Jonas Westbom, Stockholm Academy of
    Dramatic Arts, Sweden
  • Kanye Kanye by Miklas Manneke, AFDA, South Africa
  • The Library of Burned Books by Alasdair Beckett-King, London Film School, United
  • Miss Todd by Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, United
  • MO by Jakub Kouril, Film and TV School of Academy of Performing Arts in Prague,
    Czech Republic
  • Parvaneh by Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland
  • To Guard a Mountain by Izer Aliu, The Norwegian Film School, Norway
  • Tweesprong (Crossroads) by Wouter Bouvijn, Rits School of Arts, Erasmus College
    Brussels, Belgium

The winners will go to Los Angeles for a week of industry activities and social events
that will conclude with the awards ceremony on Saturday 8 June at 19h30 in the
Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here