SA’s Next Top Filmmaker semi-finalists


A record number of entries – over 250 – were received by the organisers of the 2012 edition of the South Africa’s Next Top Filmmaker competition. Fifteen submissions have been selected by the judges to proceed to the next round.

Says Kirsty Galliard of General Post, originator of the competition: “Out of the 250 entries, 76 submitted proposals for selection into the next round. Not everyone who enters the competition gets their act together to submit a proposal. Last year we had about 135 entries and 37 submissions.

“Overall we are very happy with the standard of submissions for the 2012 competition and look forward to seeing what these young filmmakers can do.’

The 15 semi-finalists will receive some feedback on how to improve their submissions and get the opportunity to present the improved submissions to the panel of judges from the competition’s three partner companies – Quizzical Pictures (formerly Curious Pictures), Endemol and Ochre Moving Pictures.

The judges are: Harriet Gavshon and JP Potgieter representing Quizzical Pictures; Tracy-Ann Van Rooyen and Bev Ditsie representing Endemol South Africa; and Anton Burggraaf representing Ochre Moving Pictures.

Second round judging will take place at Quizzical Pictures in Johannesburg on Saturday, 7 July 2012.

The semi-finalists are (in no particular order): Prince Marule; Clint Jenneker; Sisonke Ntlamba; Xolani Sibande; Thando Ntombela; Phemelo Mosholi; Alistair Anderson; Wendy Kgomotso Nyoni; Mondli Magenuka; Angie Peace; Tebogo Kgakoa; Nompumelelo Tshabalala; Eric Molatelo Thoka; Cornet Mamabolo; and Rhulani Chauke.

Camera, lighting and sound equipment will be sponsored by Digitalfilm. Wardrobe and accessories will be sponsored by Ikaya. The offline edits will be done at General Post and the online at The Bladeworks in Bryanston. Final mix for the three finalists will be sponsored by Warren Birley of Fine Tune Audio in Bryanston.

For more information please go to or


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here