New NFVF Council announced


South Africa’s Minister of Arts and Culture, Paul Mashatile, appointed the new Council of the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) on 11 April in Johannesburg. The new Council will oversee the implementation of the NFVF objectives as per the NFVF Act No. 73 of 1997.

In welcoming the new Council Minister Mashatile noted that their appoinment comes at a crucial time when the Department of Arts and Culture will hold a two-day summit to discuss a new strategy to reposition the arts, culture and heritage sector.

“I want you to work with me to create a new era for the sector and particularly film in your case. Convince me with your ideas and I will convince my Cabinet colleagues that our sector is one of the top job-drivers and therefore should receive more resources. There is a lot of talent out there. Our youth have stories to tell and we must help them do so without sending them from pillar to post,’ said the Minister.

The NFVF has committed to maximising its efforts in contributing to the government’s New Growth Path, which encourages job creation and skills development. Its mandate of developing and promoting the film and video industries domestically and globally will continue to be realised.

Here is the full list of the New NFVF Council:

       Ms. Mmabatho Ramagoshi (Chairperson): The Regional General Manager of SABC in Tshwane.

       Ms. Zama Mkosi: Director of Mkozi Media and Entertainment and former legal advisor to IDC’s Media and Motion Picture Unit.

        Mr. Sello Molefe: The coordinator and researcher at the Centre for the Study of Violence and Reconciliation and has studied Video and Film Production.

        Mr. George Leolo: Has served as CFO in Sifikile Investment Holdings, with a background in Finance.

        Mr. Avhasei Mukoma: Managing Director of Mukoma Attorneys and is also a Council member of the Operations Committee of the Film and Publication Board.

        Mr. Paul Raleigh: Founder and Managing Director of Moviworld. He is also a Director for Southern Africa Film Finances.

        Mr. Laurence Mitchell: Executive Director of Waterfront Studios and former CEO and Film Commissioner of the Cape Film Commission.

        Ms. Gcina Mhlophe-Becker: Has extensive experience in the arts including being an accomplished and world renowned actress, story-teller and writer.

Adv. Rai Roshan Dehal: A practicing advocate with expertise in Civil Litigation; Contractual Law; Property Law; Cross Border International Litigation;               Arbitration and Contractual Dispute Resolution.

Ms. Trish Downing: MD of The South African Ballet Theatre and a Trustee of the Arts & Culture Trust, and former Senior Manager in Marketing and        Communications at Ster-Kinekor Theatres.

Dr. Patricia Sethe Makhesha: Senior Executive in Transformation at SAFCOL / KLF.

The returning Council Members are Mr. Mohau Mphomela, Ms Sandra Gordon and Adv. Rod Solomons.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here