SAFTAs14 nominees

After a two-year stint at Sun City in the North-West Province, the annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) – managed by the National Film & Video Foundation – will be returning to Johannesburg for its 14th edition, taking place on 27 and 28 March at the Sandton Convention Centre.

Over a two-day extravaganza, the industry will gather to celebrate and reward the best of the best of local film and television talent both behind and in front of the camera, as decided by a panel of over 200 judges.

The primary objective of the SAFTAs is to honour, celebrate and promote the creativity, quality and excellence of the South African film and television industries, and to encourage entrepreneurship and the development of new talent.

This year’s nominees reflect the best films and television shows to have graced our screens in 2019, including Poppie Nongena, Fiela se Kind, and Die Verhaal van Racheltjie de Beer.

SAFTAs13 winner, telenovela The River, raked in an impressive 15 nominations across numerous categories, including Best Achievement in Directing, Scriptwriting, Original Music/Score, Editing, Sound, Cinematography, Wardrobe, Make-up and Hair Styling, and Art Directing. Actress Sindi Dlathu secured a nomination for Best Actress in the genre, while Presley Chweneyagae was nominated in the Best Actor category. Popular soapie Isibaya, television drama Lockdown season 4 and the feature film Fiela se Kind all clinched 11 nominations each, while the drama series The Republic received 10 nominations.

Congratulations to all the nominees, who will compete for the coveted Golden Horn Trophy.

As always, the main awards ceremony (28 March) will be broadcast live on SABC 2 starting with the red carpet at 19h00 and the main awards event at 20h00.

Follow the SAFTAs on Twitter (@saftas1) and Instagram (@saftassa) for regular updates.

Follow Screen Africa on Twitter (@screenafrica) for live announcements from the awards ceremony taking place on 28 March.

Click here for a full list of the #SAFTAs14 nominees.