SABC triumphs at MTN Radio Awards


South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) radio stations won 30 awards at the 4th MTN Radio Awards held at the Sandton Convention Centre over the weekend.

The SABC won a total of 27 awards for its “cream of the crop’ on-air talent and content producing expertise in programming, as well as three awards in the Hall of Fame category. Names to make it into the Hall of Fame were that of the late former SABC GCEO Zwelakhe Sisulu, the late Safee Siddiqi, a Lotus FM presenter, and Khotso Nkhatho, executive producer for Lesedi FM.

Ukhozi FM, which boasts more than 7 million listeners, bagged six awards, including the Best PBS Radio Station of the Year award. Throughout its history, which spans in excess of half a century of broadcasting, Ukhozi FM has made a substantial contribution to the South African radio environment.

Comments Ukhozi FM station manager: “Things that matter to the listener are our priority and we know and understand the Zulu culture. We see ourselves as the custodians of the language and the culture and we aim to maintain our custodianship with pride.’

SABC’s radio station Umhlobo Wenene FM received the most votes, as the listener’s favourite radio station.

SABC’s Commercial Radio Station, 5FM received two awards; the best afternoon drive show and best weekend radio show. Popular afternoon drive show The Fresh Drive, hosted by “the big dawg’ himself, DJ Fresh, won in the category Best Afternoon Drive show for a Commercial Radio Station. The FreshDrive has listeners tuning in to their radios with their comical and quirky show, every weekday from 15h00 to 19h00. The team consists of newsreader Poppy Ntshongwana, traffic with Catherine Grenfell and all things sports is brought to the listeners by Duran Collett.

“Without the team, the show would not be possible as each individual brings their own uniqueness and what would a radio show be without the listeners? We have to thank the listeners for tuning in,’ said DJ Fresh.

5FM’s Top 40 hosted by the super talented Sureshnie Rider, ensured a further win for the station.

Good Hope FM won the Best On-Air Packaging category for Commercial Radio Stations.

SAfm’s Ashraf Garda scooped the MTN Radio Award in the category News and Actuality presenter for PBS Radio Stations.

Former SABC Radio GM Koos Radebe received the Lifetime Achievement Award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here