AFDA and the SAFTAs


Alumni and students of AFDA (The South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance) have been nominated for a total of 24 awards in the 2013 South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTA), which will be awarded on 15 and 16 March at Gallagher Estate, Johannesburg.

Says AFDA chairman Garth Holmes: “We are hugely proud that 20 of our graduates or alumni have been nominated in various categories. Three of our current students have been nominated in the three student categories and one student has been nominated in a professional category.’

The alumni nominations include:

  • Amanda Lane for Best Director of a TV drama series – 4Play: Sex Tips for Girls;
  • Richard Lukunku for Best Actor in TV drama series for his role as Phaka in Mshika Shika;
  • Xolile Tshabalalala for Best Actress in TV drama series for her role Noma in 4Play: Sex Tips for Girls;
  • Brent Quinn (AFDA’s Head of the Film in Johannesburg) for Best Writing team of a TV drama series for Soul City;
  • Tom Marais for Best DOP / Cinematographer of a TV drama series for Soul City;
  • Quinn Lubbe and C.A. Van Aswegen for Best Editor of a TV drama series – Hartland;
  • Gerrida Venter for Best Production Design of a drama series for 90 Plein Street;
  • Marna Heunis for 4Play: Sex Tips for Girls and Larissa Peters for Zone14;
  • Leroy Gopal for Best Actor in TV comedy Ses’Top La;
  • Best Ensemble in TV comedy – Ses “Top La – Black Brain Pictures cc (Luke Rous, Tumi Masemola, Owen Swanson and Mandla Ndimande);
  • Greg Heimann and Koen Kriel for Best DOP/Cinematographer of TV soap – The Wild;
  • Thomas Gumede for Best Actor in a feature film – Otelo Burning;
  • Trevor Calverley for Best Cinematographer of a feature film – Material;
  • Jackie Lotz for Best Production of a feature film – Zama Zama; and
  • Mia Zwiegers for Best Costume Designer in Zama Zama.

AFDA’s 3rd and 4th year crew have also been nominated for best student films these include:

  • Miklas Manneke, (whose film Kanye Kanye is also up for a student Oscar), Jade Galbraith – AFDA Johannesburg for e-lectricity;
  • Rudi Steyn, Martina Della Togna, Gianfranco Human (Dean of AFDA Durban); Sarah Muhoho – AFDA Cape Town for Lyfstraf; and
  • Etienne Fourie, Robyn Oetle – AFDA Cape Town for Die Windpomp.

“This brings the AFDA student film nomination tally to 19 out of a possible 21 nominations over the past seven years, which AFDA has won five out of a possible seven times.’ says Holmes. “We are all delighted that our student Kyle Stevenson (AFDA Cape Town) has been nominated for Best Short Film in the professional category for There Are No Heroes, a remarkable accolade for this young filmmaker. We wish them all well and look forward to the Awards.’

For more information about AFDA contact Mandy Day on 021 448 7600 or or go to


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here