DGA nominations out


As the Oscars draw ever closer, the Directors Guild of America (DGA) has released the names of nominees for its 2011 awards, which will be held on 29 January in Hollywood. The DGA awards are regarded as an excellent barometer for who will win the best director Oscar as only six DGA-winning directors in the 62-year long history of the awards did not go on to win the Oscar.

In the running this year in the drama category are David Fincher for the already much-lauded The Social Network, Tom Hooper for The King’s Speech, Darren Aronofsky for Black Swan, Christopher Nolan for Inception and David O Russell for The Fighter.

Last year’s DGA drama winner, Kathryn Bigelow, went on to win the best director Oscar for The Hurt Locker, which also scooped the best picture award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here