Croatian film fest


The 15th Split Film Festival, the International Festival of New Film, takes place in Croatia from 11 to 18 September.

The Competition line-up this year includes strong and provocative new films by Gyorgy Palfi, Ludwig Wust, Karim Ainouz/Marcelo Gomes,  Pedro Gonzalez-Rubio, Johan Grimonprez, Ham Kyoung-Rock, Charlotte Lim Lay Kuen, Yelena and Nikolay Renard, Cyrus Frisch, Ben Russell, and  Anocha Suwichakornpong.

The Special Festival Award goes to Miklos Jancso, who will attend  the ceremony on 11 September.

In the Shorts Competition, there are another 37 avant garde and  experimental films.

The festival this year has a strong focus on Dutch film, video and new media productions.

The Mediterranean programme presents five features produced in the 1980s by the no longer in existence Marjan Film, a production company from Split.

UK video artist George Barber will participate in the festival’s high level lecture programme.

Jury members are Alex de Ronde, Zvonimir Juriæ and Giovanni  Spagnoletti (Features Competition), and Marta Jurkiewicz, Renata  Poljak and Balint Szaloky (Shorts Competition).

For more information log onto


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here