SABC Board shortlist


A shortlist of 37 candidates will be interviewed by the National Assembly’s communication committee for a position on the 12-member South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) board. If all goes according to plan, the interviews will be held this week and there after a final short list will be compiled.

The committee will then make its recommendation for consideration by the National Assembly and approval by President Thabo Mbeki.

Among the shortlisted candidates is film producer Paul Raleigh. The shortlisted candidates are
Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA) CEO Lumke Mtimde, former MDDA CEO Libby Lloyd, advertising executive Peter Vundla, corporate businessman Isaac Shongwe, Neren Rau of the South African Reserve Bank, lawyer Michael Judin, former SABC journalist Pippa Green, former National Assembly speaker Frene Ginwala, advocate Nomazotsho Memani-Balani of the Commission for Gender Equality, Adam Habib of the Human Sciences Research Council, Pansy Tlakula of the Independent Electoral Commission, Dr WP Rowland, Ms N Bulbulia, Ms Z Jaffer, Ms M Mohlala, Dr S Gulube, Mr R Howard, Mr M Seleone, Mr M Tshume, Mr B Khumalo, Ms M Bhengu, Mr J Kok, Mr S Shezi, Mr DK Golding, Ms GT Serobe, Ms RA Smith, Dr DM Rajah and Mr BM Dlamini.

Existing SABC board members that are on the short list are chairperson Eddie Funde, deputy chairperson Christine Qunta, Alison Gilwald, Andile Mbeki, Cecil Msomi, Ashwin Trikamjee, Fadila Lagadien and Khanyisiwe Mkhonza.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here