Winners at DIFF


The French/Nigerian/Austrian co-production “Ezra’ was judged Best Film at the Durban International Film Festival on 1 July. Directed by Newton Aduaka, the film was described by the jury as “a bold and daring film that takes us into the heart of the politics of war and hatred. “Ezra’ does not want to appease the eye; instead it wants us to look the ugly truth in the face. The film boasts a superb dramatic narrative structure, and an excellent cast of faces and locations. It is a deserved winner.’

Angus Gibson’s “Heartlines’, adapted from the TV series of the same name, won Best South African Feature Film. Other South Africans to feature in the awards were Darrell James Roodt (Special Jury Award -“Meisie’), Francois Verster (Best South African Documentary – “The Mother’s House’) and Teboho Mahlatsi, whose “Sekalli Le Meokgo’ (“Meokgo and the Stickfighter’) won both Best Short Film and Best South African Short Film. Marthinus Lamprecht won the the Big Fish School of Digital Film Short Film Newcomer Award for “Amambuka Westrike’.

The Italian film “Red Like the Sky’ (“Rosso Come Il Cielo’) directed by Cristiano Bortone won the Audience Choice Award.

Other winners were:

Best First Feature Film was shared by “The Unpolished’ (Germany), directed by Pia Marais and “The Unforgiven’ (Korea), directed by Yoon Jong-bin.

Best Direction: Jia Zhang-Ke for “Still Life’ (Hong Kong/China)

Best Actress: Cherry Pie Picache in “Summer Heat’ (Philippines)

Best Actor: Emir Hadzihafisbegovic in “Armin’ (Croatia/Germany/Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Best Cinematography: Christophe Lanzenberg for “The Sensation Of Sight’ (USA)

Best Screenplay: Gal Uchovsky and Eytan Fox for “The Bubble’ (Israel)

Best Documentary: “Cats of Mirikitani’ (USA), directed by Linda Hattendorf

Special Mention Documentary: “Nomadak Tx’ (Spain) directed by Raul de la Fuente, Pablo Iraburu, Harkaitz Mtnez. de San Vincente and Igor Otxoa.

Amnesty International Durban Human Rights Award: “Shame’ (Pakistan), directed by Mohammed Naqvi

For more information visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here