Frontrunners win SAG Awards


Golden Globe winners and odds-on Oscar favourites Helen Mirren (“The Queen’), Forest Whitaker (“The Last King of Scotland’), Eddie Murphy (“Dreamgirls’) and Jennifer Hudson (“Dreamgirls’) all triumphed at the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards in Los Angeles on 28 January.

Mirren and Whitaker won Best Actress and Best Actor respectively, while Murphy and Hudson were honoured in the Supporting Actor/Actress categories. The cast of “Little Miss Sunshine’ won the Best Ensemble Cast award.

In the TV categories the Best Ensemble Cast in a comedy series was “The Office’, with the cast of “Grey’s Anatomy’ scoring in the ensembe drama category. The individual TV comedy awards went to Alec Baldwin for “30 Rock’ and America Ferrera for “Ugly Betty’. Hugh Laurie (“House’) and Chandra Wilson (“Grey’s Anatomy’) won in the TV drama category.

Just as in the recent Golden Globes, Mirren triumphed a second time, in the TV Movie or Mini Series category, winning for “Elizabeth I’. Mirren’s co-star Jeremy Irons won the Best Actor award in the same category for the same production.

Julie Andrews (“Victor Victoria’, “Mary Poppins’, “The Sound of Music’) was the recipient of the Guild’s Life Achievement Award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here