Silwerskermfees honours local filmmakers


At the 2013 kykNET Silwerskermfees, which was held at the Bay Hotel in Camps Bay from 28 to 31 August, local filmmakers were honoured and celebrated for their contribution to the South African film industry.

Now in its third year, the kykNET Silwerskermfees, strives to create an annual platform for filmmakers to gather and engage in meaningful dialogue about the industry.

This year 13 short films and five feature-length movies made their debut at the festival while 15 other movies were also screened.

Every debut film was followed by a question and answer session during which audience members could engage with the filmmakers, while 12 conversation sessions about filmmaking and the various aspects of the process were also held.

A special screening of Durban Poison, which won Best South African Feature Film at the Durban International Film Festival, took place on Saturday 31 August.

With established directors and producers in attendance, the kykNET Silwerskermfees enables young filmmakers to showcase their work and gives them the opportunity to take part in debates about each other’s work.

Short film mentorship programmes are implemented to assist young directors specifically in terms of the script development and production of their films.  

As in previous years, the conversation sessions, led by Kabous Meiring, were extremely popular and permitted panel members and the audience to discuss every aspect of the filmmaking process and to find possible solutions to universal challenges in the film industry.

The winners of the kykNET Silwerskermfees 2013 were announced on Friday 30 August.

Short Film Awards

Best Short Film


Best Actor

Pietie Beyers for Beskermhere

Best Actress  

Jana Strydom for Vashou-ding

Best Director

Christiaan Olwagen for Toevlug

Best Screenplay

Christiaan Olwagen and Martelize Kolver for Toevlug

Special Mention

Albert Snyman and Louis Pretorius for Bloedson

Feature Film Awards

Best Feature Film

Faan Se Trein

Best Actor  

Willie Esterhuizen for Faan se Trein

Best Actress  

Lizelle de Klerk for Musiek vir die Agtergrond

Best Supporting Actor  

Deon Lotz for Faan se Trein

Best Supporting Actress

Anel Alexander for Faan se Trein

Best Director

Koos Roets for Faan se Trein

Best Screenplay

Pieter Fourie and Koos Roets for Faan se Trein

Best Cinematography

Amelia Henning for Faan se Trein

Best Editing

Nico Costaras for Faan se Trein

Best Sound Design

Barry Donnely for Faan se Trein

Special Award for Original Music

John-Henry Opperman for Musiek vir die Agtergrond

Visit for summaries of the conversations as well as additional news about the festival.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here