Home Authors Posts by AppsAfrica



Entries open for AppsAfrica Innovation Awards

The fifth annual AppsAfrica Innovation Awards celebrate the best in mobile and tech from across Africa, showcasing the continents most innovative ventures.

Why Enter?
The awards provide winners with industry recognition, global publicity, and networking with 300+ industry peers at the Awards party in Cape Town on 11 November – the eve of AfricaCom. Winners are also invited to Africa Tech Summit Kigali 2020 to join 600+ tech leaders, corporates, startups, and investors.

14 Categories
The Awards are open to corporates, established ventures or start-ups who have launched services in at least one African market for the following award categories;

Disruptive Innovation Award
This award seeks to recognise the disruptive innovations and new business models that are changing Africa. Entries open across all sectors.

Health Tech Award
This award celebrates the use of technology to improve health services in Africa. Entries may include a new service, device, software, hardware or use of apps, SMS, IVR or social media.

Best African App Award
This award recognises the best applications successfully launched on any platform to target African consumers or businesses. Entries are welcome across all sectors and platforms.

Enterprise Solution Award
This award celebrates enterprise services across Africa. Entries welcome from innovative ventures and mobile services streamlining, improving and helping business across Africa.

Blockchain Award
Few technologies have received as much attention in Africa as blockchain over the past year. This award will recognise initiatives that are utilising blockchain technology to increase the speed, efficiency, accuracy, transparency or cost-effectiveness of any sector in Africa.

News & Entertainment Award
Mobile news and entertainment is now a burgeoning industry across Africa. This award seeks to recognise the best news and entertainment innovations. Examples include music, literary, gaming, children’s entertainment, lifestyle and video.

Educational Award
Delivering education has many challenges in Africa. This award recognises services which are striving to improve education by utilising mobile or other technologies.

Fintech Award
This award recognises the best fintech innovation including digital currency, bitcoin, mobile money, wallets, P2P, money remittances & transfers, point of sale or funding platforms.

Agritech Award
This award recognises the best tech innovations driving agriculture. This includes but is not limited to hardware, software, drones, big data, IoT services, mobile or any tech supporting farmers, improving yields or supply chains in Africa.

Social Impact Award
This award recognises an inspiring use of technology that has a positive social impact for an African community while contributing to economic and social development.

IoT  Award
This award recognises the most innovative internet of things (IoT) applications, devices, products or services from brands, companies, agencies or platforms that have excelled in utilising IoT across Africa in any sector.

mCommerce Award
This award is dedicated to celebrating the new wave of mobile commerce initiatives across Africa. Entrants might include online platforms, retail brands, portals, apps, classifieds, comparison sites and many more driving mCommerce across Africa.

Changing Africa Award
This award seeks to recognise the leading companies driving game changing initiatives across Africa for the masses. Entrants might include MNO’s, leading tech platforms, hardware providers, banks, connectivity providers, OEM’s or any tech company driving progress across multiple African countries in any sector.

Mobility Award
This award seeks to recognise the leading ventures using technology such as hardware, software, robotics, drones or innovative mobile services that improve mobility, logistics or supply chains in an African market.

The deadline for entries is 11 September, with the shortlisted finalists announced in October 2018.

Award applications will be assessed by a team of expert judges who are selected based on their knowledge, influence and contribution to the improvement of technology and business in Africa.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Pin It on Pinterest