2016 International Emmy® Awards nominees span 15 countries


Nominations for the 2016 International Emmy® Awards were announced on 26 September 2016, by the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. There are 40 Nominees across ten categories and 15 countries. Winners will be announced at a black-tie Ceremony on 21 November 2016 at the Hilton New York Hotel.

Nominees come from: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, France, Germany, Japan, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates and the United States.

“The International Emmy competition is the pinnacle for recognizing excellence in television around the world,” said Bruce L. Paisner, president and CEO of the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. “We congratulate the 2016 Nominees and welcome them to our global stage.”

In addition to the presentation of the International Emmy® Awards for programming and performances, the Academy will present two special awards. Shonda Rhimes, the writer, executive producer and creator behind Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, How to Get Away with Murder and The Catch will receive the International Emmy Founders Award. Maria Rørbye Rønn, the chief executive officer and director general of Danish Broadcasting Corporation, which pioneered and drove the success of Nordic Noir drama around the world will receive the International Emmy Directorate Award.

2016 Semi-Final judging hosts were: Aetios, Fabienne Larouche & Michel Trudeau (Mont-Tremblant, Canada), Armoza Formats, Avi Armoza (Tel Aviv, Israel), Beijing CTV Splendid, Cheng Xiong (Changzhou, China), Broadview TV, Leopold Hoesch (Cologne, Germany),Cisneros Media, Marcello Coltro (Miami, USA),Cyber Group Studios, Pierre Sissmann (Paris, France), DR TV, Piv Bernth (Copenhagen, Denmark), FFP New Media, Michael Smeaton (Berlin, Germany), Fox Networks Group Latin America, Edgar Spielmann (Mexico City, Mexico), Fuji Television, Hisashi Hieda (Tokyo, Japan), Globo TV, Carlos Henrique Schroder (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil & New York, USA), Graf Filmproduktion, Klaus Graf (Berlin, Germany), Havas Productions, Raphael de Andreis & Yann Le Prado (Paris, France), HBO Latin America Group, Jonathan Baker (Miami, USA), KBS, Dae-Young Ko (Seoul, South Korea), MTVA – Hungarian Public Service Media, Zsuzsanna Kalomista (Budapest, Hungary), NFVF – National Film and Video Foundation, Zama Mkosi (Johannesburg, South Africa), ORF, Beatrice Cox-Riesenfelder (Vienna, Austria), Pyramedia, Nashwa Al Ruwaini (Abu Dhabi, UAE), Quebecomm, Sylvain Parent-Bedard (Montreal, Canada), Shanghai Croton Media, Benjamin Li (Shanghai, China), Sonae FS, Andre Sampaio (Lisbon, Portugal),The Story Lab, Erik de Winter (Amsterdam, The Netherlands),TV France International, Herve Michel (Biarritz, France), Wowow, Nobuya Wazaki (Tokyo, Japan), YLE, Liselott Forsman (Helsinki, Finland), Ziegler Films, Regina & Tanja Ziegler (Berlin, Germany).

For more information and the full list of nominees visit the International Emmy® Awards website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here