IFFR 2016 award winners announced


On 5 February, the International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) 2016 Awards
ceremony was held at IFFR’s main venue “de Doelen’.

On announcing the awards, festival director Bero Beyer commented: “IFFR 2016 has
been an edition with many inspiring, thought-provoking and engaging cinematic
achievements from all over the world. I am grateful and excited, the selection
really seemed to resonate with both industry guests and audience. On behalf of IFFR
I would like to congratulate the winners and all the films and projects that were part
of the official selection this year. Thank you to the filmmakers for creating such
wonderful films and allowing us to be part of your journey.’

The winners of the 45th edition of IFFR are:

Warsteiner Audience Award
Visitors of IFFR determine through a voting system which film is the audience
favourite. The film with the highest average vote in the audience poll wins the
Warsteiner Audience Award. The award includes a cash prize of €10 000.

Winner: Land of Mine by Martin Zandvliet

Hubert Bals Fund Dioraphte Award
The Dioraphte Award goes to the Hubert Bals Fund-supported film receiving the
highest votes from the festival audience. The award includes a cash prize of €10

Winner: El abrazo de la serpiente by Ciro Guerra

MovieZone Award
The MovieZone Award is chosen from the feature film section by the young people’s
MovieZone jury from EYE.

Winner: Land of Mine by Martin Zandvliet

The FIPRESCI Award is given to the filmmaker of the best film in Bright Future by
the jury of the Federation Internationale de la Presse Cinematographique
(FIPRESCI). Bright Future films that have their world premiere during IFFR and are
not included in a competition, qualify for this award.

Winner: Bodkin Ras by Kaweh Modiri

The NETPAC Award is awarded to the best Asian feature film by a jury from the
Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema.

Winner: The Plague at the Karatas Village by Adilkhan Yerzhanov

KNF Award
The KNF Award, awarded by “The Circle of the Dutch Film Journalists’ goes to a
Dutch production or a Dutch co-production with a world premiere at IFFR.

Winner: De Waarneming (The Perception) by Frank

VPRO Big Screen Award
This competition, consisting of eight films that have their international premieres at
IFFR, will be judged by a jury of audience members, who will decide which film will
assisted in distribution in the Netherlands. The award is worth €30 000.

Winner: Les ogres by Lea Fehner

Bright Future Award
From the 2016 edition onward, filmmakers presenting films in the main and
thematic programme of IFFR’s section Bright Future, will be celebrated with a new
award: the Bright Future Award. The award consists of €10 000, to be spent on the
development of a next film project. Filmmakers presenting the international or
world premiere of their first feature length are eligible.

Winner: Las lindas by Melisa Liebenthal

Hivos Tiger Awards
In the prestigious Hivos Tiger Awards competition it is not about the well-known
names, but about upcoming talent who get a chance to shine on the world stage. As
of 2016, eight films will compete in the Hivos Tiger Awards competition for a single
Hivos Tiger Award worth €40 000, to be shared by director and producer. In
addition, a special jury award worth €10 000 will be presented to an exceptional
artistic achievement within the competition.

Winner: Radio Dreams by Babak Jalali

Winner special jury award: La ultima tierra by Pablo Lamar, for
exceptional artistic achievement in sound design.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here