The Writers’ Guild of South Africa Muse Awards honours best performance writers


On Saturday 15 March, the inaugural Writers’ Guild of South Africa (WGSA) Muse Awards celebrated the best performance writers in South Africa for their film, television and stage scripts at an event at the Barnyard Theatre in Cresta Johannesburg.

Said Harriet Meier, chairperson of the WGSA: “Finally there is an award which acknowledges the creators of local entertainment, the incredibly gifted writers who take an idea and give it life, a face and a unique character, which is then brought to the screen by the actors, directors and producer. It is an award for writers and, judging by the emotion on display, it is long overdue.’

Best TV Comedy Script: Fidel Namisi for Tooth and Nails

Best TV Drama Script: Joshua Rous for High Rollers, Episode 101: The Prodigal

Best Stage Play Script: Gisele Turner for eLimboland

Best Feature Script: Shirley Johnston for Felix

Best Spec Script (unproduced work): Kelsey Egan for The Chemist (feature film)

Writers responded to a call for entries into the six categories in the last quarter of 2013. Both local and international judges evaluated the submissions and the winners in five categories were announced at the event.

No winner was selected in the Documentary category and all results were verified by WGSA auditors, Bermont and Company.

Zama Mkosi, CEO of the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF), delivered the keynote address.

The event was sponsored by M-Net, MictSeta, NFVF, Gauteng Film Commission, Barnyeard Theatre, Kohl Graphics, Plum Productions, Panavision, Budget Rent-a-Car and Van and PUMA Video.

Producers who are interested in the nominated and award-winning spec scripts can contact WGSA at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here