Cinematographers nominated for ASC award


The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC), a non-profit association
committed to advancing the art of filmmaking, has announced seven nominees
for outstanding achievement in the theatrical motion picture category of the
28th Annual ASC Awards.

The ceremony takes place on 1 February in Hollywood California, and unlike the
traditional selection of five nominations, a three-way tie this year has increased
the number to seven.

This is the first ASC nomination for Sean Bobbitt, who has been nominated for
12 Years a Slave, as well as Philippe Le Sourd who has been nominated for The

Barry Ackroyd, who was previously nominated for The Hurt Locker has been
nominated for Captain Phillips.

A previous ASC Award winner for The Tree of Life and Children of Men,
Emmanuel Lubezki is nominated for Gravity.

Bruno Delbonnel, who earned top honors for A Very Long Engagement as well
as a nomination for Amelie, is nominated for Inside Llewyn Davis.
Phedon Papamichael has been nominated for Nebraska. Previous nominations
include White Dwarf in the television movie category and Wild Palms in the
miniseries category.

Roger Deakins, who has a total of 12 nominations and has won awards for
Skyfall, The Shawshank Redemption and The Man Who Wasn’t There, is
nominated for Prisoners.

Richard Crudo, president of the ASC, said: “Our members believe these
cinematographers have set the contemporary standard for artful, theatrical
motion picture cinematography. They have mastered a complex craft which
contributes vitally to the storytelling process, and augments the intentions of
everyone involved with the production.’

Visit: for more information.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here