2014 SAFTAs judging panel announced


SCREEN AFRICA EXCLUSIVE: The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) announced the judging panel for the 8th annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) on Wednesday 11 September at Killarney CineCentre in Johannesburg.

The judging sessions, which were extended to Cape Town last year, now also include Durban, said SAFTAs coordinator Lala Tuku.

On behalf of the NFVF, Tuku commended the filmmakers who agreed to be part of the judging panels. “The judges are the backbone of the SAFTAs. We chose them to develop the SAFTAs as a brand and to create an industry to be proud of.’

SAFTAs Lifetime Achievement Award winner Jerry Mofokeng (The Forgotten Kingdom, Tsotsi, Fanie Fourie’s Lobola) is the overall chairperson of the judging committee with Roberta Durrant (Felix, Forced Love, Chandies), also a SAFTAs Lifetime Achievement winner, as his deputy.

According to Tuku the 2014 SAFTAs saw an increase in submissions with 432 entries compared to 233 in 2012.

The judging panels are divided in the following categories: direction, art direction, technical and performance. Each panel comprises a chairperson and deputy and eight other industry professionals.

Robbie Thorpe (Material, Man on Ground, Jozi) helms the direction panel with S’Thandiwe Kgoroge (Fynbos, Silent Witness, Heartlines) as his deputy.

Maria Hofmeyer (Schuks Tshabalala’s Survival Guide to South Africa, Wild at Heart, Bluestone 42) is in charge of the art direction panel with Martha Sibanyoni (Man on Ground, The Killing of Wendy, White Wedding) as her deputy.

Jim Petrak (Nothing for Mahala, Semi-Soet, Black South-Easter) leads the technical panel and Sandra Vieira (The Lab, Zwelidumile) is his deputy.

Chris Beasley (Isidingo, Night Drive, Wild at Heart) is in charge of the performance panel with Terence Bridgett (Kite, Jimmy in Pienk, Musiek vir die Agtergrond) as his deputy.

The 8th annual SAFTAs ceremony takes place in March 2014 at Gallagher Estate in Midrand, Johannesburg.

Report by Martie Bester


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here