SAFTAS non-fiction winners


Some of the winners in the non-fiction categories of the South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAS) announced on 20 February at Madame Zingara’s Theatre of Dreams in Johannesburg include Let’s chat with Mel (Best Talk Show), All Access for (Best Magazine Show), Agter die Berger (Best Student Film), Ed and Eppa in the Wild (Best Youth & Children) programme, A Country Imagined (Best Factual Educational Entertainment) and Karoo (Best Short Film).

Into the Dragon’s Lair, a film by the Foster Brothers, won three awards in the Wildlife category – Best Film, Best Cinematography and Best Director.

The second session of the 5th SAFTAs which will award the Fiction Categories will be held on Sunday 27 February at Madame Zingara’s.

Here is a list of all the Non-Fiction winners:

Line 1 Line 2 – All Caps Line 3 – All Caps Line 4 – Cursive Line 5 – Italics
2011 Winner Best Documentary Feature Playing the Enemy Living Pictures
2011 Winner Best Documentary Short The Killing of the Imam Tubafilms
2011 Winner Best Documentary Director Rina Jooste Jammer as ek so bitter
2011 Winner Best Documentary Editor  Nikki Comninos My Beautiful Game – A fish out of water
2011 Winner Best Documentary Cinematographer  Tim Chevalier The Ancient Astronomers of Timbuktu
2011 Winner Best Wildlife Programme Into the Dragon’s Lair NHU Africa
2011 Winner Best Wildlife Director  Craig Foster Into the Dragon’s Lair
2011 Winner Best Wildlife Editor Susan  Scott Mother Warthog
2011 Winner Best Wildlife Cinematographer Craig Foster Into the Dragon’s Lair
2011 Winner Best Wildlife Cinematographer  Damon Foster Into the Dragon’s Lair
2011 Winner Best Youth & Children Programme Ed and Eppa in the Wild rum Pepper
2011 Winner Best Factual Educational Entertainment A Country Imagined Curious Pictures
2011 Winner Best Magazine Show All Access Homebrew Films
2011 Winner Best Variety Show MK Awards 2010 Magic Factory
2011 Winner Best Talk show Let’s chat with Mel Clive Morris Productions
2011 Winner Best Reality show Die Foon Urban Brew Studios
2011 Winner Best Game show Noot Vir Noot Stemmburg Television
2011 Winner Best Sports Show Sports Playback Engage Entertainment
2011 Winner Best Student Film  Agter die Berge AFDA
2011 Winner Best Animation Mune Jesca Marisa Leibbrandt
2011 Winner Best Short Film Karoo Kaugoomi
2011 Special Mentions Music Director Kevin Smuts Into the Dragon’s Lair
2011 Special Mentions Sound Design Barry Donnelley Into the Dragon’s Lair
2011 Special Mentions Art Direction Lauren De Reuck The Tupperware party
2011 Special Mentions Producer rumene Els In Return
2011 Special Mentions Lead Actor Thulasizwe Kubheka In Return
2011 Special Mentions Cinematography Zenn Van Zyl Agter die Berge
2011 Special Mentions Director John Trengrove A Country Imagined
2011 Special Mentions Presenter Zola Hashatsi Shiz Niz
2011 Special Mentions Presenter Morena Sefatsa Shiz Niz
2011 Special Mentions Moving programme with a SA element Survivor Santa Carolina Endemol South Africa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here