Polanski film sweeps EFAs


The Ghost Writer, directed by the notorious and controversial Roman Polanski, got the best film nod at the European Film Awards (EFAs), regarded as the “European Oscars’. The film also won best director, best actor (Ewan McGregor), best screenwriter, best composer and best production designer.

Earlier this year Polanski was put under house arrest in Switzerland because of an outstanding US arrest warrant for the rape of an underage girl in 1977.

Here is the full list of EFA winners:
European Film – The Ghost Writer by Roman Polanski
European Director – Roman Polanski – The Ghost Writer
European Actress – Sylvie Testud – Lourdes
European Actor – Ewan McGregor – The Ghost Writer
European Screenwriter – Robert Harris and Roman Polanski – The Ghost Writer
Carlo Di Palma European Cinematographer Award – Giora Bejach – Lebanon
European Editor – Luc Barnier and Marion Monnier – Carlos
European Production Designer – Albrecht Konrad – The Ghost Writer
European Composer – Alexandre Desplat – The Ghost Writer
European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI – Lebanon
European Film Academy Documentary – Prix ARTE 2010 – Nostalgia for the Light – Patricio Guzman
European Film Academy Animated Feature – The Illusionist – Sylvain Chomet
European Film Academy Short film – Hanoi – Warsaw – Katarzyna Klimkiewicz
European Co-production Award – Prix EURIMAGES 2010 – Zeynep Ozbatur Atakan, producer
European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement Award – Bruno Ganz, actor
European Achievement in World Cinema – Gabriel Yared, composer
People’s Choice Award for Best European Film – Mr Nobody – Jaco von Dormael


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here