SuperSport presenters awarded


At the 30th SAB Sports Journalist of the Year awards held on Monday 6 September, SuperSport presenters were on a winning streak.

Harambee and World Cup presenter Thomas Mlambo (aka Big Daddy) walked away with the top prize in television. Robert Marawa and Phumlani Msibi, both SuperSport staffers, were finalists in this category.

“Working for SuperSport is all I’ve ever done,’ said an emotional Mlambo, “and it’s a job I love and am honoured to do.’

SuperSport director Thato Monale was honoured for the best live production of the year (for “Bafana Human Parade’), with both Sean Everett and Richard Parker finalists in this category.

Pieter Cilliers was acknowledged for the programme of the year for “Chase the Makarapa’, while Mpumelelo Mbangwa was lauded as commentator of the year.
Matthew Pearce was a finalist in the same category. Pearce doubled up and was also a finalist for the new media contributor of the year award.

Sean Everett earned a merit award for insert of the year (“Youth Day’) and Tadiwa Kambarami was a finalist in the same category.

Said Tex Teixeira, head of channels at SuperSport: “In the year of the World Cup I’m especially pleased that SuperSport came to the fore. We’ve always said our strength is in our people and the awards are proof of that.’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here