Fleur du Cap winners


The Fleur du Cap winners were announced at a glittering ceremony at the Baxter Theatre, Cape Town, on 21 March.
Known as the Oscar’s of Cape Town, the occasion is widely recognised as the city’s premier red carpet event and this year the organisers welcomed Premier Helen Zille and Mayor Dan Plato as the Guests of Honour.

The Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards are given in 18 categories and the winners each receive R15 000 prize money together with a medallion commemorating the honour.

Winning the Best Actor award for the second year in a row and the award for Best Performance in a One Person Show, was double nominee Jeremy Crutchley, honoured for his superb portrayal of Charlotte von Mahlsdorf in I Am My Own Wife, directed by Janice Honeyman who won the Best Director prize for her work on the same play.

Sandra Prinsloo received the Best Actress award for Die Naaimasjien that was written by Rachelle Greeff who scooped the award for Best New SA Script for this excellent work. Erica Wessels was named Best Supporting Actress for her role as Amanda in Private Lives and Guy de Lancey, repeating his 2009 win in the same category, won the Best Supporting Actor award for his role as Melancholy Jacques in As You Like It.

Jonathan Roxmouth, also nominated twice this year, won the Best Performance in a Musical award for his role as Gaston in Beauty and the Beast , whilst Fiona du Plooy and the cast of Angels on Horseback were the recipients of the award for the Best Performance in a Revue or Cabaret.

Illka Louw enjoyed a double win for her fine work on The Tempest that won her both the Best Costume Design and Best Set Design awards. Triple nominee Janni Younge won for Best Prop and Puppetry Design for her masks in Pictures of You, for which FTH:K’s Rob Murray won the award for the Best Lighting Design.

Tara-Louise Notcutt won the Rosalie van der Gucht Prize for New Directors for her direction on …Miskien whilst Magnet Theatre, headed by Jenni Reznek and Mark Fleishman, won the Award for Innovation in Theatre. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Maxine Arvan from the Baxter Theatre and the Best Student award was won by Hannah Borthwick from the University of Stellenbosch. Theatre fans voted online for their favourite 2009 production for the People’s Choice Award, and Decadence, starring Emily Child and Scott Sparrow, took the prize.

The next awards ceremony will be held at the Artscape Theatre in March 2011.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here