Bigelow triumphs at DGA Awards


On 31 January in Los Angeles Kathryn Bigelow became the first woman in the history of the Directors Guild of America (DGA) to win the award for Outstanding Director of a Feature Film. Bigelow, known for the films Strange Days and Point Break, triumphed for her Iraq war drama, The Hurt Locker.

While Bigelow was pipped at the post by James Cameron (Avatar) at last month’s Golden Globe Awards, her DGA win has upped her chances of winning an Oscar. In the DGA Awards’ 60-year history, the DGA winner has gone on to win the Academy Award all but six times.

The DGA presented its Lifetime Achievement Award to Norman Jewison, director of The Thomas Crown Affair (the original 1968 version), Moonstruck, Fiddler on the Roof, ..And Justice For All.

Other winners at the DGA Awards were:
Dramatic Series: Lesli Linka Glatter – Mad Men
Comedy Series: Jason Winer – Modern Family
Movies for Television: Ross Katz – Taking Chance
Musical Variety: Don Mischer – We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration
Reality Programs: Craig Borders – Build It Bigger
Daytime Serials: Christopher Goutman – As the World Turns
Children’s Programs: Allison Liddi-Brown – Princess Protection Program
Documentary: Louie Psihoyos – The Cove


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here