WGA announces noms, cancels ceremony


Shortly after the West and East Coast divisions of the Writers Guild of America (WGA) jointly released their nominations for this year’s WGA Awards, the West Coast division announced the cancellation of the awards banquet on 9 February, because of the ongoing WGA strike.

The WGA’s best original screenplay nominees are Diablo Cody (“Juny’), Tony Gilroy (“Michael Clayton’), Tamara Jenkins (“The Savages’), Judd Apatow (“Knocked Up’) and Nancy Oliver (“Lars and the Real Girl’).

Nominees for best adapted screenplay are Ethan and Joel Coen (“No Country for Old Men’), Paul Thomas Anderson (“There Will Be Blood’), Ronald Harwood (“The Diving Bell and the Butterfly’), Sean Penn (“Into the Wild’) and James Vanderbilt (“Zodiac’).

For TV, writers for “Dexter’, “Friday Night Lights’, “Mad Men’, “The Sopranos’, and “The Wire’ received nominations in the drama category, while “Curb Your Enthusiasm’, “Flight of the Conchords’, “Entourage’, “The Office’, and “30 Rock’ are up for the comedy award.

In the documentary category, Michael Moore’s “Sicko’, the top-grossing doc of 2007, was among the nominees along with Anthony Giacchino’s “The Camden 28′, Bill Guttentag, Dan Sturman and Elizabeth Bentley’s “Nanking’, Charles Ferguson’s “No End in Sight’, Richard Berge, Nicole Newnham and Bonni Cohen’s “The Rape of Europa’ and Alex Gibney’s “Taxi to the Dark Side’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here