SA in running for world PR presidency


The London Secretariat of the International Public Relations Association (IPRA) has announced that National President & Chairman of the Public Relations Institute of Southern Africa (PRISA), Mixael de Kock has made it through the organisation’s grueling nomination process to become one of two candidates who will be competing for the body’s World Presidency for 2010.

De Kock, APR (PRISA) M IPRA is serving the last year of two consecutive two-year terms as SA National Chair on the IPRA World Council. According to IPRA’s bylaws candidates must receive at least five nominations from a minimum of three different countries and must have served for at least two years on either the Board or World Council.

From the The MAVERICK Group offices in Johannesburg, from where he manages the Group as its Chief Executive, De Kock said: “My opposing candidate in this election, Dr Elizabeth Ananto from Indonesia, is a programme head at the Trisakti International Business School. I have only the highest respect for her as a professional and I know that I am up against a formidable opponent!”

At the end of 2005 Mixael de Kock received the coveted annual IPRA Gold World Award for Excellence in Public Relations. At present, he is serving his second year as President and Chairman of the South African professional body, PRISA.

Joseph Emanuel Allotey-Pappoe, President of the Federation of African Public Relations Associations (FAPRA) endorsed De Kock’s candidacy and said: ‘We formally met at the Global Alliance’s Festival in Cape Town earlier this year and I was most impressed with PRISA’s “new look’ under De Kock’s tenure. I have no doubt, in terms of his achievements, principles and vision, that he is eminently placed to lead IPRA in the 21st century.”

Mixael de Kock, who received nominations way in excess of the minimum required number of countries, concludes: ‘Should I be elected President of IPRA I vouch to commit all of my time to further the aims and objectives of the organisation – as I have done to serve PRISA and its members for my two-year Presidency, which ends mid-2008.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here