SA among 2006 International Songwriting Competition (ISC) finalists


The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced its 2006 finalists and semi-finalists. Selected out of almost 15,000 entries from 88 countries, they represent all genres of contemporary music.

For a complete list of 2006 ISC finalists and semi-finalists, please visit:

Amongst the vast number of finalists, is one South African Craig Sidler from Tshwane/Pretoria who was selected for his song “Uptown’ in the AAA category. Selasee Atiase from Accra, Ghana was selected for his song “Agba Yei’ in the World Music category.

ISC winners are chosen from the group of finalists and will be announced in March, 2007. ISC’s judges include executives from 14 record labels and esteemed artists such as Tom Waits, Brian Wilson, Sean Paul, Jerry Lee Lewis, Rosanne Cash, Craig Morgan, Robert Smith (The Cure), Amy Ray (Indigo Girls), Cassandra Wilson, Darryl McDaniels (RUN DMC) and many more. Over $150,000 in cash and merchandise will be awarded to 56 winners, including an Overall Grand Prize winner who receives $25,000 in cash (the largest cash Grand Prize of any songwriting competition in the world) and over $25,000 in prizes.

The 2006 ISC finalists’ songs are currently posted on the ISC website as part of the 2006 People’s Voice – an online voting contest that allows the public to listen to and vote for their favorite ISC finalist. The winner of the People’s Voice is selected solely by public vote and is in addition to, and completely separate from, the regular winners who will be selected by the prestigious ISC judging panel. Visit to listen to the 2006 ISC finalists’ songs and cast your vote!

The complete panel of 2006 judges include: Brian Wilson; Tom Waits; Rosanne Cash; Sean Paul; Mark Chesnutt; Jerry Lee Lewis; Frank Black (Pixies); Robert Smith (The Cure); Cassandra Wilson; Isaac Brock (Modest Mouse); Medeski Martin & Wood; Craig Morgan; John Mayall; John Scofield; Amy Ray (Indigo Girls); Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC); MercyMe; Macy Gray; Charlie Musselwhite; Peter Hook (New Order); Blue Man Group; Tiesto; and Jeff Stinco (Simple Plan); Charlie Walk (President, Epic Records); Monte Lipman (President, Universal Records); Mona Scott-Young (President, Violator Records); Cameron Strang (President, New West Records); Steve Lillywhite (Sr. VP A&R, Columbia Records and Producer – credits include U2, The Rolling Stones, Dave Matthews Band, Phish, Peter Gabriel, and more); Alexandra Patsavas (Owner, The Chop Shop Music Supervision – credits include The OC, Grey’s Anatomy, Without A Trace, Carnivale, Rescue Me); Barbara Sedun (VP Creative, EMI Music Publishing Canada); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Betty Pino (DJ, WAMR Miami, pioneer of Latin radio); Angel Carrasco (President, 605 Discos and Sr. VP A&R, Sony BMG Latin America); Thomas Brooman (Co-Founder/Artistic Director, WOMAD); Dan Storper (President, Putumayo World Music); Danny Epstein (Music Supervisor, Sesame Street/Sesame Workshop); Tara Griggs-Magee (Executive VP Gospel/Urban Music, Sony Records); Emily Wittmann (VP, Nick Records); Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People); Larry Willoughby (VP A&R, Capitol Records Nashville) and Manolo Gonzalez (Sr VP Regional Mexican A&R and National Promotion, Univision Records)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here