All the winners from SAFTAs 2018


The 12th annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) took place on 22 and 24 March 2018 at Sun City Resort in the North West Province. Managed under the custodianship of the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) – an agency of the Department of Arts and Culture – every year the SAFTAs celebrates, honours and awards excellence within the film and television industry, both in front of and behind the camera.

Night one of the SAFTAs took place on Thursday, 22 March and celebrated excellence in technical craft within the industry. The evening, hosted by Phat Joe, was a celebration of the talent behind the scenes. Click here for a full list of the SAFTAs night one winners.

NFVF CEO, Zama Mkosi, had this to say about the night one winners: “It is important to celebrate each and every person who plays a crucial role in the journey of creating the magic we see on our screens daily. Today’s winners are an integral part of translating South Africa’s golden stories into entertaining and thought provoking conversation pieces. Congratulations to all the winners, we are extremely proud of the contribution you make to the South African film and television industry.”

Night two aired live from the Sun City Superbowl on Saturday, 24 March on SABC2. The evening commenced on the red carpet at 19h30 – hosted by Kuli Roberts and Rorisang Thandekiso – with the main event, hosted by Thando Thabete and Phat Joe, taking place at 20h00.

The SAFTAs12 night two winners are as follows:

Best Student Film: Hewn – The Animation School

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Comedy: Johann Vermaak for Puppet Nation ZA

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Comedy: Karen Jeynes, Tsitsi Chiumya, Sipumziwe Lucwaba and Angel Campey for Puppet Nation ZA

Best Actress – TV Comedy: Carine Rous in Elke Skewe Pot

Best Actor – TV Comedy: Mandla Gaduka in Gauteng Maboneng

Best Supporting Actress – TV Comedy: Linda Sebezo in Gauteng Maboneng

Best Supporting Actor – TV Comedy: Schalk Bezuidenhout in Hotel

Best TV Comedy: Puppet Nation ZA – Both Worlds

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Soap/Telenovela: Phiwe Mkhanzi and Sthembiso Mathenjwa for Isibaya

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Soap/Telenovela: Colin Howard, Rosa Keet, Marcel Spaumer, Christine Truter, Ernst Brōcker, Candice Johannes, Hadley Horne, Kobus Geldenhuys, Ilse Oppelt, Tinus van Antwerp, Henry Cloete, Amy Jephta, Johann Davis, Theltom Masimila, Tristram Atkins for Suidooster

Best Actress – TV Soap/Telenovela: Jo-Anne Reyneke for Broken Vows

Best Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela: Hamilton Dhlamini for Isithembiso

Best Supporting Actress – TV Soap/Telenovela: Tarryn Lamb for Suidooster

Best Supporting Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela: Pallance Dladla for Isibaya

Best TV Soap: Isibaya – The Bomb Shelter

Best Telenovela: High Rollers 3 – Rous House Productions

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Drama: Catharine Cooke, Rolie Nikiwe and Rea Rangaka for iNumber Number

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Drama: Reabetswe Moeti and Mandla Ngcongwane for Lockdown

Best Actress – TV Drama: Thuso Mbedu for Is’thunzi

Best Actor – TV Drama: Warren Masemola for Tjovitjo

Best Supporting Actress – TV Drama: Jana Cilliers for Die Boekklub 2

Best Supporting Actor – TV Drama: Emmanuel Castis for Erfsondes 4

Best TV Drama: Tjovitjo – Tjovitjo Films (PTY) LTD

Best Documentary Feature: Skulls of my People – Puo Pha Productions

Best talk Show Host: Pabi Moloi for Trending SA

Best Achievement in Directing – Feature Film: John Trengrove for Inxeba (The Wound)

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – Feature Film: John Trengrove, Malusi Bengu and Thando Mgqolozana for Inxeba (The Wound)

Best Actress – Feature Film: Crystal Donna Roberts for Krotoa

Best Actor – Feature Film: Nakhane Touré for Inxeba (The Wound)

Best Supporting Actress – Feature Film: Nomonde Mbusi for VAYA

Best Supporting Actor – Feature Film: Bongile Mantsai for Inxeba (The Wound)

Best Feature Film: Inxeba (The Wound) – Urucu Media

Best TV Presenter: Lerato Kganyago – Live Amp

Most Popular TV Soap/Telenovela: Uzalo – Stained Glass Productions

Outstanding Person with Disability Contributor Award: Shelly Barry

Youth Achiever Award: Ayanda Sithebe

Lifetime Achiever Award: Johan Stemmet

Lifetime Achiever Award: Thoko Ntshinga

Outstanding Provincial Contributor Awards: Thabang Moubane

The SAFTAs committee consists of the SABC, DStv, M-Net,, StarSat, the Cultural and Creative Industries Federation of South Africa (CCIFSA) and the South African Screen Federation (SASFED).






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here