Oscar nominations announced


On 15 January 2015, directors Alfonso Cuaron and J.J. Abrams, actor Chris Pine and Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs announced the nominations for the 87th Academy Awards – taking place on 22 February at the Dolby Theatre. Academy members from each of the 17 branches vote to decide the nominees in their respective categories.

The following is a complete list of nominations.

Performance by an actor in a leading role:
• Steve Carell in Foxcatcher
• Bradley Cooper in American Sniper
• Benedict Cumberbatch in The Imitation Game
• Michael Keaton in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
• Eddie Redmayne in The Theory of Everything

Performance by an actor in a supporting role:
• Robert Duvall in The Judge
• Ethan Hawke in Boyhood
• Edward Norton in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
• Mark Ruffalo in Foxcatcher
• J.K. Simmons in Whiplash

Performance by an actress in a leading role:
• Marion Cotillard in Two Days, One Night
• Felicity Jones in The Theory of Everything
• Julianne Moore in Still Alice
• Rosamund Pike in Gone Girl
• Reese Witherspoon in Wild

Performance by an actress in a supporting role:
• Patricia Arquette in Boyhood
• Laura Dern in Wild
• Keira Knightley in The Imitation Game
• Emma Stone in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
• Meryl Streep in Into the Woods

Best animated feature film of the year:
Big Hero 6 – Don Hall, Chris Williams and Roy Conli
The Boxtrolls – Anthony Stacchi, Graham Annable and Travis Knight
How to Train Your Dragon 2 – Dean DeBlois and Bonnie Arnold
Song of the Sea – Tomm Moore and Paul Young
The Tale of the Princess Kaguya – Isao Takahata and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Achievement in cinematography:
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)’ – Emmanuel Lubezki
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Robert Yeoman
Ida – Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski
Mr. Turner – Dick Pope
Unbroken – Roger Deakins

Achievement in costume design:
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero
Inherent Vice – Mark Bridges
Into the Woods – Colleen Atwood
Maleficent – Anna B. Sheppard and Jane Clive
Mr. Turner – Jacqueline Durran

Achievement in directing:
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Alejandro G. Inarritu
Boyhood – Richard Linklater
Foxcatcher – Bennett Miller
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson
The Imitation Game – Morten Tyldum

Best documentary feature:
CitizenFour – Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy and Dirk Wilutzky
Finding Vivian Maier – John Maloof and Charlie Siskel
Last Days in Vietnam – Rory Kennedy and Keven McAlester
The Salt of the Earth – Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and David Rosier
Virunga – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Best documentary short subject:
Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 Ellen Goosenberg Kent and Dana Perry
Joanna – Aneta Kopacz
Our Curse – Tomasz Sliwinski and Maciej Slesicki
The Reaper (La Parka) – Gabriel Serra Arguello
White Earth – J. Christian Jensen

Achievement in film editing:
American Sniper – Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach
Boyhood – Sandra Adair
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Barney Pilling
The Imitation Game – William Goldenberg
Whiplash – Tom Cross

Best foreign language film of the year:
Ida – Poland
Leviathan – Russia
Tangerines – Estonia
Timbuktu – Mauritania
Wild Tales – Argentina

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling:
Foxcatcher – Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier
Guardians of the Galaxy – Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score):
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Alexandre Desplat
The Imitation Game – Alexandre Desplat
Interstellar – Hans Zimmer
Mr. Turner – Gary Yershon
The Theory of Everything – Johann Johannsson

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song):
• “Everything Is Awesome’ from The Lego Movie. Music and Lyric by Shawn Patterson
• “Glory’ from Selma. Music and Lyric by John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn
• “Grateful’ from Beyond the Lights. Music and Lyric by Diane Warren
• “I’m Not Gonna Miss You’ from Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me. Music and Lyric by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond
• “Lost Stars’ from Begin Again. Music and Lyric by Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois

Best motion picture of the year:
American Sniper. Clint Eastwood, Robert Lorenz, Andrew Lazar, Bradley Cooper and Peter Morgan, Producers
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). Alejandro G. Inarritu, John Lesher and James W. Skotchdopole, Producers
Boyhood. Richard Linklater and Cathleen Sutherland, Producers
The Grand Budapest Hotel. Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Steven Rales and Jeremy Dawson, Producers
The Imitation Game. Nora Grossman, Ido Ostrowsky and Teddy Schwarzman, Producers
Selma. Christian Colson, Oprah Winfrey, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner, Producers
The Theory of Everything. Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce and Anthony McCarten, Producers
Whiplash. Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook and David Lancaster, Producers

Achievement in production design:
The Grand Budapest Hotel. Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock
The Imitation Game. Production Design: Maria Djurkovic; Set Decoration: Tatiana Macdonald
Interstellar. Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Gary Fettis
Into the Woods. Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock
Mr. Turner. Production Design: Suzie Davies; Set Decoration: Charlotte Watts

Best animated short film:
The Bigger Picture. Daisy Jacobs and Christopher Hees
The Dam Keeper. Robert Kondo and Dice Tsutsumi
Feast. Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed
Me and My Moulton. Torill Kove
A Single Life. Joris Oprins

Best live action short film:
Aya. Oded Binnun and Mihal Brezis
Boogaloo and Graham. Michael Lennox and Ronan Blaney
Butter Lamp (La Lampe Au Beurre De Yak). Hu Wei and Julien Feret
Parvaneh. Talkhon Hamzavi and Stefan Eichenberger
The Phone Call. Mat Kirkby and James Lucas

Achievement in sound editing:
American Sniper. Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). Martin Hernandez and Aaron Glascock
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies. Brent Burge and Jason Canovas
Interstellar. Richard King
Unbroken. Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro

Achievement in sound mixing:
American Sniper. John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montano and Thomas Varga
Interstellar. Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten
Unbroken. Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montano and David Lee
Whiplash. Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley

Achievement in visual effects:
Captain America: The Winter Soldier. Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist
Guardians of the Galaxy. Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould
Interstellar. Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher
X-Men: Days of Future Past Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer

Adapted screenplay:
American Sniper. Written by Jason Hall
The Imitation Game. Written by Graham Moore
Inherent Vice. Written for the screen by Paul Thomas Anderson
The Theory of Everything. Screenplay by Anthony McCarten
Whiplash. Written by Damien Chazelle

Original screenplay:
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). Written by Alejandro G. Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo
Boyhood. Written by Richard Linklater
Foxcatcher. Written by E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman
The Grand Budapest Hotel. Screenplay by Wes Anderson; Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness
Nightcrawler. Written by Dan Gilroy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here