RSG honoured with eight awards by the ATKV


Among the various movers and shakers within the Afrikaans media that have
been recognised for their outstanding contribution towards Afrikaans at the
annual ATKV (Afrikaanse Taal en Kultuur Vereniging) MediaVeertjies are the staff
of radio station Radio Sonder Grense (RSG).

The annual media awards are presented to those individuals who deliver an
outstanding contribution towards the Afrikaans language, in the media sector,
during the course of a specific year. Each category prize winner receives a cash
amount of R3,500 and a trophy. This year’s awards took place on Friday night 9
May at Vodaworld in Midrand.

A special award was presented to Wouter de Wet for his lifelong contribution to
radio. De Wet celebrates 50 years as radio presenter this year. At the age of
73, he’s still involved as a part-time presenter at RSG and presents the radio
station’s opera programme on Sunday evenings, Dis Opera.
RSG presenters and programme makers have won in the following categories
within the Radio section:
1. Best presenter or interviewer of an entertainment or journal program:
Martelize Brink for her feature on Tobie Cronje on Oggend op RSG
2. Best insert in an entertainment- or journal program: Ettienne Ludick for his
insert on Ellis Park as field of dreams in RSG Sport
3. Best presenter or interviewer of a news- or actuality program: Lynette
Francis for her program on Magical Madiba on Praat Saam
4. Best insert in a news- or actuality program: Foeta Krige for his insert on
Muslim refugees on Monitor
5. Best entertainment- or journal program: Martelize Brink for the program
Oggend op RSG
6. Best news- or actuality program: Lynette Francis for the programme Praat
7. Best documentary or program series: Mia Malan and Darren Taylor for their
8. Best radio drama or –theatre: Margot Luyt for “Bagasie’
There were also award sections for newspapers, magazines, TV and online
media platforms.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here