Zero Dark Thirty and Argo dominate WGA Awards


The 65th Annual Writers Guild Awards (WGA) took place in Los Angeles on 17 February 2013. The ceremony honours outstanding achievement in writing in film, television, radio, new media, and other awards categories.

Some of the winners are:

Motion Pictures:

Original Screenplay:
Zero Dark Thirty written by Mark Boal.

Adapted Screenplay:
Argo, screenplay by Chris Terrio based on a selection from The Master of Disguise by Antonio J. Mendez and the Wired magazine article The Great Escape by Joshuah Bearman.

Documentary Screenplay:
Searching for Sugar Man by Malik Bendjelloul

Television Series:

Breaking Bad written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz and Moira Walley-Beckett.

Comedy Series:
Louie written by Pamela Adlon, Vernon Chatman and Louis C.K.

New Series:
Girls written by Judd Apatow, Lesley Arfin, Lena Dunham, Sarah Heyward, Bruce Eric Kaplan, Jenni Konner, Deborah Schoeneman and Dan Stirling.

Episodic Drama:
Mad Men written by Semi Chellas and Matthew Weiner for “The Other Woman’

Long Form – Original:
Hatfields & McCoys, teleplay by Ted Mann and Ronald Parker, story by Bill Kerby and Ted Mann for “Nights Two and Three’.

Long Form – Adapted:
Game Change written by Danny Strong, based on the book by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann.

Episodic Comedy:
Modern Family, written by Elaine Ko for “Virgin Territory’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here