ZANEWS scores six SAFTA noms


The satirical puppet television and web show ZANEWS has received six nominations for the South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTA), which takes place on 15 and 16 March at Gallagher Estate, Johannesburg.

All the actors, writers, editors, puppeteers, puppet-makers and producers behind ZANEWS have been nominated in the following categories:

Best Actor in a TV Comedy: Nik Rabinowitz, as various characters (Tutu, Benni, Sepp, Khanyi, Khulubuse, Patricia, Ninja, etc)

Best Actress in a TV Comedy: Nikki Jackman as various characters (Helen, Lindiwe, Debora, Gaga, Charlize, Yo-landi, etc)

Best Ensemble in a TV Comedy: Both Worlds (the production company behind ZANEWS)

Best Editor of a TV Comedy: Aaron Naidoo, Rod Macleod, Hugh Upsher (and Volo Ganca)

Best Art Direction of a TV Comedy: Riccardo Pugliese (sets) and Lindsay van Blerk (puppet design)

Best Animation: ZANEWS

Says the show’s executive producer Thierry Cassuto: “We are thrilled that, finally, ZANEWS has been recognised for its contribution to television in South Africa, proving that, despite all that we’ve heard over the years, yes South Africans are ready for ZANEWS.

“Every day we show that news and politicians don’t have to be scary – provided that we, the people, pull their strings. Thanks to the SAFTA judges for noticing us and, most importantly, thank you to TopTV for putting up with our ungovernable puppets for the last two years.’

ZANEWS is shown weekly at 9.00 pm on Sundays and 8.30 pm on Tuesdays on TopOne (TopTV). It is also available daily via the web and mobile at, on the South African iTunes store, on DVDs and as comic in The Big Issue magazine.

Launched by co-founders Cassuto and Zapiro in 2009, ZANEWS has won the following awards:

2009 Handspring Award for Puppetry
2009 Prism Award for Best Sponsorship Programme
2010 SA Blog Award
2010 Financial Mail AdFocus Newsmaker of the Year
2010 South African Music Awards (SAMAS) – Nominated for Best Music Video (Chicken to Change, with Freshlyground)
2010, 2011 and 2012 DMMA Bookmark Awards: a total of eight prizes, including a Gold for Chicken to Change and Best Editorial Team in SA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here