MDDA board member noms


Institutions and / or individuals are hereby invited to nominate a person to fill a vacancy, arising as from 1 January 2013, on the board of South Africa’s Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA) as established in terms of the Media Development and Diversity Act, No. 14 of 2002.

MDDA was created to enable “historically disadvantaged communities and persons not adequately served by the media’ to gain access to the media. Its beneficiaries are community media and small commercial media.

A board member will be:

A person who is committed to fairness, freedom of expression, openness and accountability. Representative of a broad cross-section of the population of the Republic and will possess suitable qualifications, expertise and experience in the fields of, amongst others:

Community media

Social, labour and development issues. Media economics, financial management and funding. Advertising and marketing. Journalism and broadcast programming. Media research. Media training, literacy and education. Media law. Information and communication technology policy; or any other related expertise or qualifications.

Nominees must also be South African citizens permanently resident in the Republic.

Written nominations must contain the full name and address of the institution and / or individual making the nomination, the nominee’s signed acceptance of the nomination and his / her Curriculum Vitae, providing at least the following information:

Full name, ID number and gender

Contact address, telephone and fax numbers, e-mail address. Previous experience (quoting dates and organisations concerned). Certified copies of academic qualifications and identity document.

Nominations and enquiries must be addressed to the Committee Secretary, Mr Thembinkosi Ngoma, Portfolio Committee on Communications, 3rd Floor, 90 Plein Street, Cape Town 8001 or emailed to or faxed to 086 522 5740. Telephonic enquiries can be made to 021 403 3733 or 083 709 8407.

The closing date for nominations: Friday, 28 September 2012 at 16:00. Please note that no late nominations will be considered.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here