Film Talent Celebration judges


The five judges selected for DStv’s Film Talent Celebration short film competition are Kgomotso Matsunyane of T.O.M Pictures; Helen Kuun of Indigenous Film Distribution; Eve Rantseli of Women of the Sun; Teboho Mahlatsti of The Bomb; and Steven Markovitz of Encounters.

“All of our judges are well respected within the film industry and each has extensive experience. We have also taken great pains in selecting judges who have an eye for identifying great talent,’ says Itumeleng Letebele, corporate social investment manager at MultiChoice, owner of the DStv pay-TV platform.

Steven Markovitz, film producer and co-founder of the Encounters South African International Documentary Festival says: “This competition represents a unique platform for filmmakers to show their talent and win great cash prizes. It will raise the profiles of the winning filmmakers significantly, and gives them an opportunity to get cash for their short films, something that rarely happens.’

The DStv Film Talent Celebration competition is open to every filmmaker and any genre applies. It is however, limited to South African citizens. Films must be between six and 10 minutes. The judges will select winners for each of the six categories: Best Production, Best Director, Best Editor, Best Sound, Best Cinematography and Best Newcomer. The competition not only celebrates talent but the winners will receive cash prizes between R20,000 and R50,000.

Winners will be announced at a special gala event, where the selected short films will be screened. The event provides a platform for upcoming filmmakers to showcase their
work to the industry.

The competition is a natural extension of the DStv Film Skills Development Programme which offers participants from previously disadvantaged backgrounds with filmmaking training and mentorship by top industry professionals. Since its inception four years ago, it has equipped 64 filmmakers.

For more information on how to submit entries, filmmakers can visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here