Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards regional winners


After a rigorous judging process by the judging panel, Vodacom is pleased to announce the regional winners for the 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards in the Western region. Countrywide, 1,224 entries were submitted for the 10th annual Awards this year, a 33% increase in entries from last year. The Awards have grown from strength to strength over the last decade. The Western region had the most entries from the five regions in the print feature category (a total of 65 entries).

Portia Maurice, Chief Officer, Corporate Affairs at Vodacom commented, “From the feature stories to the exposes, this year’s entries really reflect the changing fabric of South African society and the range of social challenges we have to confront as a society – from honeymoon murders and fracking to xenophobia.’

The winners of the 2011 Vodacom  Journalist of the Year regional Awards in the Western region are:

2011 Columnist winner
Sipho Hlongwane, The Big Issue, Dogs of war: Patronising brought to you

2011 Community media winners
Faatimah Hendricks, The Voice of the Cape, The Battle of Hangberg
Dorianne Arendse, The Voice of the Cape, The Battle of Hangberg

2011 Consumer Journalism winner
Kim Van Reizig, Media 24, You, Huisgenoot, Plastics: The Good and The Bad
Giovanna Gerbi, Primedia Broadcasting, Eyewitness News, Surprise Hospital Trauma Unit visits

2011 Sport winner
Norman McFarlane, Independent Cape, Bolander Lifestyle, Powerlifting: A magnificent obsession

2011 Television: Feature winner
Liz Fish, Carte Blanche, Combined artists, Fracking in the Karoo

2011 Television: General News winners
Dianne Hawker, eTV, Khayelitsha Toilet Protest
Mario Pedro, eTV, Khayelitsha Toilet Protest
Thomas Davis, eTV, Khayelitsha Toilet Protest
Kyle Haffajee, eTV, Khayelitsha Toilet Protest

2011 Editors Choice winner
Rafiq Wagiet, Primedia Broadcasting, Eyewitness News

2011 Cartoonist winner
Jeremy Nell, The New Age, Jeremy Nell Studio, Africa 2.0

2011 Financial/Economic winner
Claire Bisseker, Avusa, Financial Mail, Do or Die

2011 Online Journalism winner
Andy Davis, Mahala, Xhosa Kung Fu

2011 Photography winner
Tracey Adams, Independent Newspapers, The Argus, Ticket Scalper

2011 Print: Feature winner
Elsabe Brits, Media24, Die Burger, Bruin mense se gene opnuut belig

2011 Print: General News winner
Glynnis Underhill, Mail & Guardian, Body of work – Series on Anni Dewani, Spy wars, Cele vs Mdhululi, High flying ministers enjoy champagne

2011 Radio: Feature winner
Dorianne Arendse, Voice of the Cape, Current affairs show, Xenophobia in Western Cape

The winners will officially receive their prizes at a champagne breakfast to be held in Cape Town on 30 September at Protea’s 15 on Orange Hotel. All the regional winners countrywide will go on to the National Awards ceremony in Johannesburg on 4 November.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here