ImpACT Awards noms open


The Arts & Culture Trust (ACT) is recognising and celebrating excellence in South African arts, culture and creativity.

ACT is now open for nominations for the ImpACT Awards for Young Professionals which will be presented at the 14th annual ACT Awards. Artists up to the age of 30 years that fall within the first three years of their professional careers are eligible for nomination.

“The encouragement and acknowledgement of excellence is of utmost importance to the future of South African creativity. ACT is grateful to the Distell Foundation for sponsoring the ImpACT Awards for Young Professionals and we value the opportunity to support emerging artists and enhance excellence in the sector,” says Pieter Jacobs, General Manager of ACT.

Emerging artists at a time in their careers when they have shown commitment to and reached some professional standing in their chosen discipline may be nominated in one of four categories:

  • Visual Art (Painting and Printmaking, Sculpting, Public Installations & Photography)
  • Performing Arts (Dance, Acting, Musical Theatre & Physical Theatre)
  • Music & Singing (Classical, Contemporary & Jazz)
  • Design (Craft, Graphic Design, Fashion Design & Web Design)

Winners of the ImpACT Awards are selected by an independent panel of judges. Awards will only be presented if a satisfactory number of quality nominations are received in the various categories and the adjudication panel reserves the right to carry over such awards to the following year.

The closing date for nominations is 29 July 2011. For guidelines and nomination forms please visit the ACT website at

The highlight of the Awards Ceremony is the presentation of three Lifetime Achievement Awards to luminaries for their lifelong contribution to theatre, music and visual arts in South Africa. Past recipients of this accolade include Miriam Makeba, John Kani, Gcina Mhlope, Ronnie Govender, Peter Clarke, and David Koloane amongst others. Lifetime Achievement Winners are nominated and selected by the ACT Board of Trustees.

The 14th annual ACT Awards is presented in partnership with the Vodacom Foundation, the Dramatic, Artistic and Literary Rights Organisation (DALRO), the Southern African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO) and is supported by the Distell Foundation, Classicfeel Magazine and Business and Arts South Africa (BASA).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here