3D World Cup broadcast wins at AIBs


Sony Professional and Host Broadcast Services (HBS) (UK) won the most Innovative Technology Award for their 3D broadcast of the recent Fifa World Cup, at the Association for International Broadcasting Awards (AIBs) held in London on 9 November.

The AIBs reward excellence in media and are unique in broadcasting because of their independence from commercial interests. An independent panel of judges consisting of respected professionals from the broadcasting and wider industries selected the winners among a record number of entries submitted from all over the world.

Here are the winners:
Clearest coverage of a single news event – television
Winner: Al Jazeera English (Qatar) for Gaza Flotilla coverage
Clearest coverage of a single news event – radio
Winner: BBC World Service (UK) for Connexion Haiti
Best creative feature – television
Winner: VRT (Belgium) for Volt
Best creative feature – radio
Winner: Tinderbox Production (UK) for Flexible Friend or Foe
Most innovative technology – sponsored by Bloomberg TV
Winner: Sony Professional and HBS (UK) for The World’s First 3D World Cup
Best cross-media/online production – sponsored by Eurosport
Winner: Arte France (France) for Prison Valley
Most creative marketing strategy
Winner : Shree FM (Sri Lanka) for Badumalla
Best children’s factual programme or series – sponsored by 1GOAL
Winner: BBC (UK) for Horrible Histories
Best investigative documentary – television
Winner : Clover Films (UK) for The Dancing Boys of Afghanistan
Best investigative documentary – radio
Winner : Czech Radio (Czech Republic) for A Boy and the
People’s Choice “Best Coverage of Climate Change” – sponsored by ADB
Winner decided by online voting: Phoenix Satellite Television (Hong Kong) for Earth Rescue Operation
Best current affairs documentary – television
Winner : Channel 4 Television (UK) for Afghanistan: Behind Enemy Lines
Best current affairs documentary – radio
Winner : BBC World Service (UK) for Dying to Give Birth
Best historical documentary – television
Winner : WDR (Germany) for Picture of the Napalm Girl
Best specialist genre – television
Winner : The Doha Debates (Qatar) for The Doha Debates
International personality of the year – television
Winner: Stephen Sackur – BBC News (UK) International personality of the year – radio
Winner : Alain Lefevre – Societe Radio-Canada (Canada

For more information visit www.aib.org.uk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here