SABC Bafana Song finalists


Five thousand songs were entered into public broadcaster SABC’s Bafana Song Competition, which will see the winning song receiving airplay on SABC just before the 2010 FIFA World Cup™. SABC is the official broadcaster of this epic sporting event.

The song will become the official song of the South African national soccer team, Bafana Bafana. Five finalists have been announced, with the winner to be revealed on 9 May.

Finalists are: Mac van der Merwe from Centurion, Kelvin Naidoo from Pietermaritzburg, Layola Madikizela from Carletonville, Don Clarke from Southern Drakensburg Area and Ntshabeng Tlali from Durban.

Judges comprised a credible panel of music compilers and managers from various SABC radio stations. They were: Jamela Maakana, Mohlouoa Mile, Lubabalo Sibindlana, Tinus Esterhuizen.

The top five songs will be played until 4 May on all SABC radio stations and television platforms, during which listeners and viewers will be able to vote for the winning song via SMS to 34022.

SABC will deliver a world class broadcast service for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™. With its reach, footprint and over 22 million viewers and listeners daily, the SABC will ensure that all South Africans can share in the excitement of the 2010 FIFA World Cup™, no matter where they are.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here