Record Number of Animation Entries for Oscars


There are 20 animated feature film submissions for the forthcoming Oscar awards.
According to the rules of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, there must be at least 16 eligible films in a year to expand to five nominations and if there are fewer than eight that enter, the animation film category disappears off the awards list.

The 20 submitted features are:

  • “Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel’
  • “Astro Boy’
  • “Battle for Terra’
  • “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs’
  • “Coraline’
  • “Disney’s A Christmas Carol’
  • “The Dolphin – Story of a Dreamer’
  • “Fantastic Mr. Fox’
  • “Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs’
  • “Mary and Max’
  • “The Missing Lynx’
  • “Monsters vs. Aliens’
  • “9′
  • “Planet 51′
  • “Ponyo’
  • “The Princess and the Frog’
  • “The Secret of Kells’
  • “Tinker Bell and the Lost Treasure’
  • “A Town Called Panic’
  • “Up’

In the past there have only been five nominees once before (in 2002) and there is no guarantee that five of the above will make the nominations list.
Films submitted in the category also may qualify for Academy Awards in other categories, including best picture, provided they meet the requirements for those categories.

The 82nd Academy Awards nominations will be announced on 2 February and the award statues will be presented on 7 March.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here