Training & Courses


Nzimande proposes SETAs be reconstituted

Mon, 16 Nov 2015
 Blade Nzimande has proposed that the SETA system be discarded. The SETA system was created in 1998..

Learn to use narrative to sell with a free online course from the D&AD Foundation

Mon, 16 Nov 2015
 D&AD, with the support of Creative Skillset, have launched a free online course for professionals wh

M-Net's MiM Academy searches for class of 2016

Mon, 09 Nov 2015
 The M-Net Magic in Motion Academy calls for applications for its 2016 programme...

African screenwriters residency REALNESS calls for entries

Wed, 04 Nov 2015
 Urucu Media proudly presents REALNESS, a screenwriters residency for a new generation of African c

Workshops at DISCOP Africa Johannesburg 2015

Mon, 26 Oct 2015
 DISCOP Africa 2015 will hold thirty-two hands-on, small group workshops, moderated by experts and

British Film Institute presents film masterclass in Lagos

Mon, 26 Oct 2015
 The British Film Institute (BFI) will present a film industry masterclass in Lagos, Nigeria...

Ready, set, write

Thu, 22 Oct 2015
 Each November NANOWRIMO encourages writers around the world to buckle down and churn out a 50 000 wo

Footprint Media Academy opens 2016 registration

Tue, 20 Oct 2015
 Footprint Media Academy is an internationally recognised training institution in the broadcasting

The ATFT presents entrepreneurship workshop

Fri, 11 Sep 2015
 The ATFT and ABSA Centre of Entrepreneurship are hosting an introductory entrepreneurship workshop..

Writers' Table screenwriting programme call for applicants

Wed, 26 Aug 2015
 Ochre Moving Pictures and Rififi Pictures will be launching the second of its training programmes

AFDA launches two new degrees

Wed, 05 Aug 2015
 AFDA is expanding its educational offerings to include business innovation and computer technology

The Writing Studio helps writers prepare for The Triggerfish Story Lab

Tue, 28 Jul 2015
 The Writing Studio will be doing an exclusive workshop with writers who would like to get their conc

SA directors selected for the Cannes SA Film Factory at DIFF

Thu, 23 Jul 2015
 The Cannes South African Film Factory selects four SA directors and four international directors, to

DIFF programme update

Wed, 22 Jul 2015
 The National Film and Video Foundation’s session entitled ‘Sediba Scriptwriting Master Class’ is o

Writer’s Table screen writing initiative

Tue, 21 Jul 2015
 Ochre Moving Pictures is investing in skills development in the field of narrative screen writing...

DFM script writing masterclass stresses the importance of the protagonist

Mon, 20 Jul 2015
 Masterclasses are held daily during DFM to assist writers, directors and producers in the numerous f

Durban FilmMart opens the Transmedia Lab

Sat, 18 Jul 2015
 The Durban FilmMart Transmedia programme has been opened to all DFM and DIFF attendees this year...

Writer Aidan Whytock to present free workshop at DIFF

Fri, 17 Jul 2015
 South African director Aidan Whytock will be presenting a free workshop on how to make a movie on a

DFM Business Model Canvas workshops

Tue, 14 Jul 2015
 The Durban FilmMart will be hosting one-and-a-half day closed workshops on the Business Model Canva

Freedom of expression workshops and awards at DIFF 2015

Mon, 13 Jul 2015
 Freedom of expression and related issues are a core feature of Arterial Network’s three-fold presenc

Ochre Soap Opera Writing Course call for applications

Wed, 08 Jul 2015
 Ochre Moving Pictures, a subsidiary of Times Media, is investing in skills development in the field

Africa International Film Festival sends 15 undergrads for film school scholarship

Mon, 29 Jun 2015
 AFRIFF has sent 15 undergraduates to train at the film school at Mountain State University in the US

The Maisha Lab to host the Screenwriting Laboratory at ZIFF 2015

Tue, 09 Jun 2015
 Zuku TV – the headlining sponsor of ZIFF – welcomes the Maisha Lab as the host of the Screenwriting

NFVF National Bursary Scheme call for applications

Fri, 29 May 2015
 In order to stimulate and advance skills development, meet the current needs of industry, and to e

Footprint Media Academy opens registrations for July intake

Wed, 27 May 2015
 Registration is now open for Footprint Media Academy’s 20 July 2015 intake...