2017 Simon Mabhunu Sabela Awards winners
Print this page

Mon, 17 Jul 2017 11:36

The Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela Film and Television Awards winners were announced on Saturday night 15 July, during the fifth annual Simon Sabela Film Television Awards - a glamorous event held at The Playhouse in Durban.

The awards were attended by the crθme de la crθme of the film and television industry including celebrities and representatives from across the African continent, as well government officials from other provinces.

“We would like to congratulate the 2017 winners of the prestigious Simon Sabela awards. The Sabela’s continue to grow from strength to strength, an indication that the KZN film industry is moving in the right direction. The amount of support from our partners has been phenomenal, in addition the newly formed partnership with LUX, will go a long way in ensuring that women filmmakers get motivated to excel in their craft. Once again, congratulations to all the winners, we look forward to another exciting instalment in 2018 where the stakes will be even higher, especially in categories such as best use of KZN as a location as we have seen a lot of funded productions coming out on circuit in 2017,” says CEO Carol Coetzee.

The 2017 winners are:

Best Emerging Director: Kundai Vera for Stranger Danger
Best Actress - TV: Nomzamo Mbatha for Isibaya
Best Actor - TV: Siyabonga Thwala for Isibaya
Best Supporting Actress - TV: Gcina Mkhize for Isibaya
Best Supporting Actor - TV: Andile Mxakaza for Isibaya
Best Newcomer: Linda Mtoba for Isibaya
Best Student Film: Amandiya
Best Documentary Feature: The Scar of Seven Day War
Best Documentary Short: Durban Beach Rescue
Best use of KZN as a location: Inkinga Isibongo
Best IsiZulu Film: Buchitheke Bugayiwe
Best Screenplay: Umfelokazi
Best Microbudget Film: Ikhaya Lami
Best Feature Film: Happiness is a Four-letter Word
Best Newcomer Actress (Film): Ayanda Mngoma for Imbali ka Baba
Lifetime Achiever: Mikhail Peppers

The Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela Film and Television Awards is an initiative of the Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs and is implemented by the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission.

Related Articles

comments powered by Disqus