LAFF announces the details of its fifth edition
Print this page

Thu, 14 Jan 2016 12:17
The Luxor African Film Festival logo

The Luxor African Film Festival (LAFF) recently announced the selected films in the festival’s various competitions as well as the jury members and the honourees. The fifth edition of LAFF will be taking place from 17 to 23 March 2016, in Luxor, Egypt.

The Long Narrative Competition will include:
Reveries of the Solitary Actor (Algeria) by Hamid Benamra; Without Regret (Cote D’Ivoire) by Jacques Trabi; Shadow of Madness (Mali) by Boubacar Gakou; Starve Your Dog by Hicham Lasri; The Unseen (Namibia) by Perivi John Katjavivi; The Missing God (Nigeria) by Ubaka Joseph Ugochukwu; Mona (Nigeria) by Anthony Abuah.

The jury of the Long Narrative Competition will consist of director Flora Gomes (Guinea Bissau), director Moussa Tourι (Senegal), actor Driss el-Rokh (Morocco), actress Sawsan Badr (Egypt) and director Magdy Ahmed Aly (Egypt).

The Long Documentary Competition will include:
Funeral of My Father (Cameron) by Lorenzo Mbiahou and Milosine Tchetkou; Never They Were Not Children (Egypt) by Mahmoud Soliman; The Last Fight (Kenya) by Jackie Lebo; Duty to Remember (Mali) by Mamadou Cisse; The Bread Road (Morocco) by Hicham Elladdaqi; The Women of the Clock (Morocco) by Raja Sediki; Sembene (Senegal) by Jason Silverman and Samba Gadjigo; The Four Seasons (Tunisia) by Mohamed Zran; Roundabout in My Head (Morocco) by Hassen Ferhani; A Man for My Family (Guinea) by Thierno Souleymane Diallo; Rendala le Mikea (Madagascar) by Alain Rakotoarisoa; Rock Inspired (Nigeria) by Famous Odion Iraoya; The Siren of Faso Fani (Burkina Faso) by Micheal Zongo.

The jury of Long Documentary Competition will consist of producer Pedro Pimenta (Mozambique), film critic Hans-Christian Mahnke (Germany), director Jihane El- Tahiry (Egypt), director Khaled El-Haggar (Egypt), DoP Dr. Wael Saber (Egypt).

The Freedom Competition will include:
Beasts of No Nation (USA) by Cary Jojy Fukunaga; Towards the Forest of Snow (Cote d’Ivoire) by Robin Hunzinger; Freetown (Liberia) by Garrett Batty; Tentmakers of Cairo (Australia) by Kim Beamish; Independence (Angola) by Mario Bastos; Crumbs (Ghana); Visaranai by Vetri Maaran (India); Gnonnou (Benin) by Agnes-Maritza Boulmer; Little Go Girls (France) by Eliane De Latour; The Man Who Mends Women (Congo) by Thierry Michel.

The Freedom Competition jury will be headed by US star Danny Glover and the membership of film critic Olivier Barlet (France), actress-director Ahd Kamel (Saudi Arabia), director Ahmed Maher (Egypt) and novelist Ebtihal El-Shayeb (Egypt).

LAFF’s 5th edition has been dedicated to the name and memory of the late Egyptian star Omar Sharif, Moroccan critic Mustafa Elmesnawy and director Henry Duparc (Cote d’Ivoire).

Cote d’Ivoire has also been chosen to the country guest of honour this year on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the first production of an Ivorian film. Nawara (Egypt) by Hala Khalil, was also chosen to be the opening film of the fifth edition of the festival.

Related Articles

LAFF launches new African Film Student CompetitionThe management of LAFF has officially launched a new competition for African students of cinema...

Luxor African Film Festival calls for entriesThe 5th Luxor African Film Festival, which takes place in Luxor, Egypt, is accepting film submissions...

From AfryKamera to FESTICABAt a certain point, there were only two main film festivals across the African continent: FESPACO in Burkina Faso and DIFF in South Africa...

comments powered by Disqus