Talent Campus Durban participants
Print this page

Thu, 14 Jun 2012 15:01

The Durban International Film Festival (DIFF) has finalised selection of participants for the 5th edition of the Talent Campus Durban programme. For five days from 20 to 24 July, 50 African  filmmakers will come together in the city of Durban to be inspired and enlightened in the medium and industry of cinema.

The programme facilitates opportunities for skills development through workshops and master classes with industry leaders, and the establishing of relationships with other participants and film professionals also present at the festival.

This year’s candidates, chosen from over 250 submissions, hail from 18 different African countries, including Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, Tunisia, and Uganda. Participants will also be able to attend the 33rd Durban International Film Festival from 19 to 29 July.

For the first time, Talent Campus Durban will be hosting Talent Press, a programme which, in association with the Goethe Institut and FIPRESCI – the International Association of Film Critics, mentors four African journalists in the craft of film criticism. For a second year, Talent Campus Durban will include Doc Station, in which three selected Talents have the opportunity to refine and polish documentary projects for presentation within the 3rd Durban FilmMart’s DOC Circle.

Talent Campus Durban is a cooperation with the Berlinale Talent Campus, which recently celebrated its 10th edition with over 350 talents attending during the 61st Berlin International Film Festival. Through the international programme, which extends to Talent Campuses in Buenos Aires, Guadalajara, Sarajevo and Tokyo, as well as Durban, participants are initiated into a global community of filmmakers and connected via a wide social network operated through the Berlinale.

Talent Campus Durban taps into the rich resources of a diverse cross section of the next generation of African filmmakers. This year’s theme ‘Africa Superimposed’ will focus this process in the profound innovation that African film has to offer the broader world, and the ways in which the richness of African culture and approaches are making a stronger impression on film across the globe.

Talent Campus Durban is presented in partnership with the Berlinale Talent Campus, with support from the German Embassy of South Africa, Goethe-Institut of South Africa, and the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Economic Development and Tourism.

Talent Campus Durban 2012:

Mohamed El Amine Hattou (Algeria), Claire Diao (Burkina Faso), Christa Eka Assam (Cameroon), Habi Mohamed Seoud Ahmed Nofal (Egypt), Marouan Omara (Egypt), Zelalem  Gebresenbet  (Ethiopia), Katarina Hedren (Ethiopia), Priscilla Kessie (Ghana), Makafui  Zimrani  (Ghana), Joan Kabugu (Kenya), Abdullah Al-Ghaly (Libya), Luck Ambinintsoa Razanajaona (Madagascar), Ezaius Mkandawire (Malawi), Bahrar Marouane (Morocco), Oghomwensemwen Adeyinka-Edward (Nigeria), Aderinsola Ajao (Nigeria), Yves Montand Niyongabo (Rwanda), Iman Djionne (Senegal), Stephen Abbott (South Africa), Martin Bleazard (South Africa), Lisa Uga Carlini (South Africa), Mogamad Fuad Casker (South Africa), Sungeni Chithambo (South Africa), Shanelle Jewnarain (South Africa), Daryne Garth Joshua (South Africa), Dominique Jossie (South Africa), Tebogo Keebine (South Africa), Michael Klein (South Africa), Vuyolwethu Lima (South Africa), Katlego Boitshepo Makabanyane (South Africa), Mlamleli Maki (South Africa), Clea Mallinson (South Africa), Luke Mason (South Africa), Amanda Miliswa Mariza Matshaya (South Africa), Mfundo Mkhize (South Africa), Yolanda Keabetswe Mogatusi (South Africa), Enathi Vanessa Mqokeli (South Africa), Siphesihle  Mthembu (South Africa), Pascale Neuschafer  (South Africa), Sandile Francis Nzuza (South Africa), Gugulethu okaMseleku (South Africa), Luke Rous (South Africa), Tebello Muhammad Abd al Wahhab ibn Yusuf Tlali oa Letseng (South Africa), Jacobus  van Heerden (South Africa), Cornelius Johannes van Rooyen (South Africa), Anneke Villet (South Africa), Alistair Wray Heath (South Africa), Marwa Zein (Sudan), Ines Marzouk (Tunisia), Robert Nyanzi (Uganda)

Related Articles

comments powered by Disqus