New Media

New Media News

VR headset market poised for hockey-stick growth


Fri, 24 Feb 2017
 The market for virtual reality headsets is expected to be worth $9.1 billion by 2021...

Showmax taps QYOU for custom East African video series


Fri, 24 Feb 2017
 South African subscription-video-on-demand (SVOD) service ShowMax has enlisted the services of onlin

Facebook, Snapchat bellwethers for social TV


Wed, 22 Feb 2017
 Facebook and Snapchat working on creating new ad models and dabbling in original programming...

Discovery to develop mobile shows for Snapchat


Mon, 20 Feb 2017
 Discovery Communications has announced plans to develop video series for its channel on the Snapchat

ShowMax takes first step into Europe


Thu, 16 Feb 2017
 Naspers-owned video-on-demand platform ShowMax has made its debut in a European country...

ShowMax and Vodacom team up on new lower-priced internet TV service


Thu, 09 Feb 2017
 Available exclusively to Vodacom customers on an add-to-bill basis, ShowMax Select is a new internet

Pretoria joins the 4DX revolution


Tue, 07 Feb 2017
 Nu Metro can now confirm that Gauteng’s second 4DX cinema will open its doors to public at Nu Metro

Kwesι brings P.Diddy's multi-platform REVOLT TV to Africa


Mon, 06 Feb 2017
 Kwesι is the first international distribution partner for REVOLT...

Apple joins AI partnership


Mon, 30 Jan 2017
 The Partnership on Artificial Intelligence to Benefit People and Society has gained another high-pro

Open call for short web documentaries


Mon, 23 Jan 2017
 IDFA and Jos de Putter from Deep Focus Web Documentaries invite entries for project proposals from t

CNN Marketplace Africa: Social and digital media in South Africa


Mon, 23 Jan 2017
 CNN Marketplace Africa examines the expansion of social networks across South Africa and their role

Fox launches location-based entertainment, virtual and augmented reality unit


Fri, 20 Jan 2017
 Emerging from the Fox Innovation Lab, which launched The Martian Experience, the company’s first com

Go gaming with Cartoon Network


Mon, 16 Jan 2017
 Cartoon Network, one of South Africa’s kid-focused channels, will be introducing multiple digital of

Icflix strikes deal with Orange Tunisia


Wed, 11 Jan 2017
 Icflix, the streaming and VOD platform based in the Middle East North Africa...

Amazon Prime Video extends reach into South Africa


Wed, 11 Jan 2017
 Amazon has made its over-the-top (OTT) Prime Video service available around the globe, except for Ch

Periscope launches 360-degree live video


Fri, 06 Jan 2017
 Periscope has launched live 360-degree video across all platforms...

MTN Rwanda introduces mobile TV


Thu, 05 Jan 2017
 The MTN TV application allows users to stream and share videos on their Android data-enabled handset

2017 to bring big changes for VOD


Wed, 14 Dec 2016
 Library depth may no longer be a competitive advantage and rights holders will put content back in t

VR players form Global Virtual Reality Association


Tue, 13 Dec 2016
 Acer Starbreeze, Google, HTC VIVE, Facebook’s Oculus, Samsung, and Sony Interactive Entertainment an

Global SVOD homes to reach 428 million by 2021


Tue, 13 Dec 2016
 The number of SVOD homes is forecast to reach 428 million across 200 countries by 2021, up from 177

Sky and Cisco launch streaming OTT platform


Mon, 12 Dec 2016
 A streaming OTT TV service named OnPrime TV and operated by Sky UK Ltd and Cisco Systems Inc was lau

BBC iPlayer to stream Ultra HD and HLG footage


Fri, 09 Dec 2016
 Online could be the key channel to hasten 4KTV development, and in a move that could see a spike in

YuMe announces 360° mobile ad format


Thu, 08 Dec 2016
 Online video advertising technology provider YuMe has announced the availability of an immersive 360

ShowMax is now on Android TV


Wed, 07 Dec 2016
 ShowMax has released an updated Android app which now supports Android TV devices...

Netflix now offers downloads


Thu, 01 Dec 2016
 Netflix is making some television shows and movies available for download to watch offline...
SITEMAP