Film

FILM NEWS

African women redefining the art of filmmaking on the continent


Thu, 25 Aug 2016
 In the postcolonial period, filmmaking in Africa was majorly dominated by men with very few female d

Watch quirky SA short film Lina and Leo online


Thu, 18 Aug 2016
 'Lina and Leo' is a quirky 20-min film, written and directed by Yolande Botha and produced by The Br

Mozambican filmmakers launch crowdfunding campaign to produce first feature


Thu, 18 Aug 2016
 Set up on Indiegogo the filmmakers goal is to raise $150 thousand over the next 38 days...

Modder En Bloed now available on DVD


Tue, 16 Aug 2016
 Modder En Bloed was released in cinemas in April 2016, the much anticipated DVD of the film was rele

The director's statement: Noem My Skollie


Mon, 15 Aug 2016
 'Noem My Skollie' director explains what drew him to the project. The film is due for theatrical rel

Applications now open for Hot Docs-Blue Ice Group Documentary Fund


Fri, 12 Aug 2016
 Final deadline for applications is on 19 August 2016....

IPO to participate at the first annual US–SA Film and TV Dialogue


Thu, 11 Aug 2016
 The Independent Producers Organisation has partnered with Motion Picture Association, International

Film Independent Project Involve announces LAIKA Animation Fellowship for emerging filmmakers


Fri, 05 Aug 2016
 Emerging filmmakers with a focus in animation and who come from diverse backgrounds and communities

Open Design Movie Nights launches with crowdfunding premiere in Cape Town


Tue, 02 Aug 2016
 On Thursday 11 August 2016 Thundafund are partnering with Open Design Cape Town to launch the Open D

SA drama The Wound aims to challenge narrow depictions of African masculinity


Tue, 02 Aug 2016
 An International Film Festival Rotterdam’s Hubert Bals Fund selection, currently in production is 'T

Ethiopian film Lamb set for USA release this September


Wed, 20 Jul 2016
 Director Yared Zeleke’s 'Lamb' was Ethiopia’s selection for Best Foreign Language Oscar consideratio

New Afrikaans film Eintlik Nogal Baie set for theatrical release


Mon, 18 Jul 2016
 Written by Jarrod de Jong and Pieter Oosthuizen, M4gic-J Entertainment brings the new Afrikaans film

Huisgenoot celebrates centenary with new film Vir Die Voëls


Fri, 15 Jul 2016
 As part of its centenary celebrations, Huisgenoot, in collaboration with kykNET Films, is involved i

NFVF call for national bursary applications for film and TV studies


Tue, 12 Jul 2016
 The NFVF's bursary programme is aimed at stimulating and developing the skills of applicants who wan

The Rohan Vos Story receives recognition award at HIIDA


Mon, 11 Jul 2016
 'My Life on the Tracks - the Rohan Vos Story' received a Recognition Award at the Hollywood Internat

SA film and TV industry takes a stand to promote a global warning


Fri, 01 Jul 2016
 The Forever Changed Global Awareness Campaign encourages the understanding that there are alternativ

Filmmaking hub launched in Johannesburg


Thu, 30 Jun 2016
 The Johannesburg Expo Centre has teamed up with film practitioners to launch Studio Joburg, a new fi

SA classic The Suit makes screen debut at DIFF 2016


Mon, 27 Jun 2016
 Based on Can Themba’s iconic short story, 'The Suit', had its premiere at the Durban International F

New distribution deal for South African filmmakers


Thu, 23 Jun 2016
 SAGMP Films, in association with the company’s American partner, are in the process of clinching a d

African Screen Network developing African audiences


Wed, 22 Jun 2016
 The African Screen Network (ASN) has launched a new distribution initiative to grow African audience

Cameras roll on Khalo Matabane’s 28’s in KwaZulu Natal


Mon, 20 Jun 2016
 Award-winning director, Khalo Matabane, has begun shooting his latest feature '28’s', a gritty expos

Previous DFM project ‘Alison’ due for theatrical release this August


Sun, 19 Jun 2016
 Director Ugh Carlini's latest film 'Alison', a previous DFM project, has been confirmed for theatric

Using short films to build brand and audience


Sat, 18 Jun 2016
 Todd Brown, of Los Angeles-based XYZ Films, presented a session exploring how filmmakers can use sho

Durban filmmaker returns to DIFF with 'Radio Rats' documentary


Tue, 14 Jun 2016
 'Jiving and Dying - The Radio Rats Story' sees Durban filmmaker Michael Cross return to the Durban I

NFVF calls for submissions for the Emerging Black Filmmakers Transformation Fund


Thu, 09 Jun 2016
 NFVF and IDC are inviting emerging black filmmakers to submit proposals for the Emerging Black Filmm
SITEMAP