Film

FILM NEWS

Hot Docs-Blue Ice group fund awards eight African documentary projects


Thu, 09 Feb 2017
 Eight African film projects have been chosen to receive a total of $103 000 in development and produ

SA filmed Blade Runner tribute now on YouTube


Mon, 06 Feb 2017
 Five years ago South African-born writer/director Christopher Grant Harvey began production on a sho

NFVF call for Cycle 3 applications is now open


Mon, 23 Jan 2017
 The National Film and Video Foundation has announced that the call for Cycle 3 funding applications

Crowdfunding campaign to complete SA musical film


Tue, 10 Jan 2017
 An Indigogo campaign is running to raise finishing funds for an SA musical set to show off the City

Local creatives work on Universal’s Kevin Hart: What Now?


Tue, 06 Dec 2016
 Fort’s Amr Singh and Craig February joined the Universal Studio team and Kevin Hart during the South

The Wound to make world premiere at the 2017 Sundance Film Festival


Fri, 02 Dec 2016
 The Wound, a film by John Trengove, will make its world premiere in the World Cinema Dramat

Applications now open for Realness pan-African scriptwriting residency 2017


Tue, 29 Nov 2016
 Following the success of the inaugural scriptwriting residency, Realness announced the call for subm

Miriam Makeba biopic in development


Mon, 28 Nov 2016
 A biopic on the late South African singer and civil rights activist Miriam Makeba is in the works...

Tyler Perry Studios casting director scouting in SA


Thu, 24 Nov 2016
 Regional director for the ARTS, Elsubie Verlinden, has invited Rhavynn Drummer - casting director fo

Keeping up with the Kandasamys to release in cinemas March 2017


Mon, 21 Nov 2016
 Keeping up with the Kandasamys is directed by Durban filmmaker, Jayan Moodley, and produced

Passing of SA film pioneer Jans Rautenbach


Thu, 10 Nov 2016
 Last week, on 2 November 2016, a pioneering filmmaker in South, Jans Rautenbach, the director of suc

Passing of a South African film industry stalwart, Junaid Ahmed


Thu, 03 Nov 2016
 Junaid Ahmed, was an international award winning writer, director, and producer of Happiness is

Zambia’s first musical feature film to be unveiled at DISCOP


Wed, 26 Oct 2016
 Post-production work is nearing completion on the first African musical film to be produced in Zambi

Watch director Yolande Botha's short film Renascence online


Mon, 24 Oct 2016
 Short film Renascence by Yolande Botha releases online...

Travelling French-Africa short film series begins African tour


Tue, 04 Oct 2016
 The revered travelling French-Africa short film series, Quartiers Lointains, heads to the A

SA film campaigns for crowdfunding


Mon, 03 Oct 2016
 An SA team of filmmakers have launched a crowdfunding campaign to launch a five-year production slat

Groundglass granted funding for SA prison gang feature


Tue, 27 Sep 2016
 Groundglass announced that the National Film and Video Foundation SA awarded them funding, following

Noem My Skollie continues to gain traction at cinemas around SA


Fri, 23 Sep 2016
 Over 26,000 tickets were sold in the first three weeks and three new cinemas have been added to show

IndiePix Films partners with Retro Afrika Bioscope for its Vintage Afrika collection


Tue, 20 Sep 2016
 The partnership will kick off with 48 vintage 1970s and 1980s genre films, rarely seen outside SA bo

Videovision Entertainment scoops Seretse Khama film A United Kingdom


Thu, 15 Sep 2016
 Sanjeev Singh, Videovision Entertainment’s director of Acquisition and Distribution, announced the a

REALNESS Screenwriters Residency report back


Wed, 14 Sep 2016
 Last December Urucu Media – under the mentorship of Berlinale Talents, in partnership with...

ASC releases free 'Cinema Display Evaluation Plan and Test Protocol'


Fri, 09 Sep 2016
 The 'Cinema Display Evaluation Plan and Test Protocol' defines a method for the visual evaluation of

KZNFC call for training facilitators


Tue, 06 Sep 2016
 The KZNFC is calling for experienced film and television training practitioners to facilitate skills

NFVF announces call for cycle 2 funding


Tue, 06 Sep 2016
 The NFVF has announced that the call for cycle 2 funding is now open, across all categories...

NFVF call for documentary slate proposals


Tue, 30 Aug 2016
 The National Film and Video Foundation is calling for proposals for its documentary slate to the val
SITEMAP