Film

FILM NEWS

Serpent screens at Cannes


Mon, 22 May 2017
 Last week, producer, Anant Singh announced that the suspense thriller, SERPENT will be scre

Apartheid prison break movie headlines with international stars


Mon, 22 May 2017
 Popularly known as Harry Potter, Daniel Radcliff will be heading to South Africa next year

Love by Chance releases in SA


Wed, 03 May 2017
 Award-winning South African actors Atandwa Kani, Altovise Lawrence, Nicholas Nkuna and Denise Ziman

American cast attends Love by Chance premiere in Johannesburg


Fri, 28 Apr 2017
 Local and visiting celebrities were out in all their finery at Hyde Park Nu Metro's premiere of L

Dora's Peace wins at Boston International Film Festival


Thu, 20 Apr 2017
 Khabonina Qubeka won the Best Actress Award for her role as Dora and director Kosta Kalarytis bagged

Martin Scorsese’s Film Foundation unveils African film heritage project


Fri, 10 Mar 2017
 Martin Scorsese’s Film Foundation has unveiled the African Film Heritage Project to locate, restore,

RapidLion 2017 award winners


Fri, 10 Mar 2017
 All RapidLion nominated and winning films were screened at the RapidLion Film Festival which ran unt

Kino Lorber sets USA theatrical release date for The Wound


Tue, 07 Mar 2017
 Kino Lorber has set a 16 August USA theatrical release date for the South African drama The Woun

Keeping up with the Kandasamy's breaks R1.6 million at the local box office


Mon, 06 Mar 2017
 Keeping up with the Kandasamy's, has raked in a remarkable R1.6 million at the box office o

NFVF announces call for international bursary applications


Mon, 06 Mar 2017
 Deadline for applications is on 31 March 2017 at 17h00 CAT...

SA filmmaker John Volmink in fatal accident


Thu, 02 Mar 2017
 This week sees the passing of John Volmink, devoted family man, business leader and ship captain...

Hot Docs-Blue Ice group fund awards eight African documentary projects


Thu, 09 Feb 2017
 Eight African film projects have been chosen to receive a total of $103 000 in development and produ

SA filmed Blade Runner tribute now on YouTube


Mon, 06 Feb 2017
 Five years ago South African-born writer/director Christopher Grant Harvey began production on a sho

NFVF call for Cycle 3 applications is now open


Mon, 23 Jan 2017
 The National Film and Video Foundation has announced that the call for Cycle 3 funding applications

Crowdfunding campaign to complete SA musical film


Tue, 10 Jan 2017
 An Indigogo campaign is running to raise finishing funds for an SA musical set to show off the City

Local creatives work on Universal’s Kevin Hart: What Now?


Tue, 06 Dec 2016
 Fort’s Amr Singh and Craig February joined the Universal Studio team and Kevin Hart during the South

The Wound to make world premiere at the 2017 Sundance Film Festival


Fri, 02 Dec 2016
 The Wound, a film by John Trengove, will make its world premiere in the World Cinema Dramat

Applications now open for Realness pan-African scriptwriting residency 2017


Tue, 29 Nov 2016
 Following the success of the inaugural scriptwriting residency, Realness announced the call for subm

Miriam Makeba biopic in development


Mon, 28 Nov 2016
 A biopic on the late South African singer and civil rights activist Miriam Makeba is in the works...

Tyler Perry Studios casting director scouting in SA


Thu, 24 Nov 2016
 Regional director for the ARTS, Elsubie Verlinden, has invited Rhavynn Drummer - casting director fo

Keeping up with the Kandasamys to release in cinemas March 2017


Mon, 21 Nov 2016
 Keeping up with the Kandasamys is directed by Durban filmmaker, Jayan Moodley, and produced

Passing of SA film pioneer Jans Rautenbach


Thu, 10 Nov 2016
 Last week, on 2 November 2016, a pioneering filmmaker in South, Jans Rautenbach, the director of suc

Passing of a South African film industry stalwart, Junaid Ahmed


Thu, 03 Nov 2016
 Junaid Ahmed, was an international award winning writer, director, and producer of Happiness is

Zambia’s first musical feature film to be unveiled at DISCOP


Wed, 26 Oct 2016
 Post-production work is nearing completion on the first African musical film to be produced in Zambi

Watch director Yolande Botha's short film Renascence online


Mon, 24 Oct 2016
 Short film Renascence by Yolande Botha releases online...
SITEMAP