Film

FILM NEWS

NFVF announces 2014 co-production report

Thu, 16 Apr 2015
 The NFVF, an agency of the Department of Arts and Culture, presents the annual co-production activit

2015 Jameson First Shot winners announced

Tue, 14 Apr 2015
 Kevin, Spacey, Competition, UmaThe three winners of the competition are preparing to fly to Los Angeles to bring their short film s

Ster-kinekor reports biggest box office and attendance weekend in cinema chain’s history

Thu, 09 Apr 2015
 Ster-Kinekor has announced that the record for the biggest weekend box office has once again been br

African film makers access US market

Wed, 08 Apr 2015
 Content aggregator ReelAfrican is offering African film makers the opportunity to access audiences f

NFVF call for Q1 funding applications

Tue, 07 Apr 2015
 National Film and Video Foundation, SAFTAsThe areas of funding application include training, marketing and distribution and development and pr

SA to receive two more IMAX cinemas

Tue, 31 Mar 2015
 Ster-Kinekor, Cradlestone, Eastgate, BaySter-Kinekor has signed a further agreement with IMAX Corporation to install two additional IMAX the

Mobile Cinemas to boost entrepreneurship in rural communities

Tue, 31 Mar 2015
 MOSAIC, 2B, township, movieMpumalanga will undergo a technology experiment which will turn entrepreneurs into mobile cinema ope

Rob Van Vuuren and Jon Savage star in new SA comedy

Wed, 18 Mar 2015
 Stone Cold Jane Austen is a film featuring an all-star cast of local celebrities, due for release i

Preview screening of Ballade vir ’n Enkeling

Tue, 17 Mar 2015
 Ballade vir ’n Enkeling and Ster-Kinekor are giving the public the opportunity to watch the highly

Seven SA films screen at Cordoba African Film Festival

Tue, 17 Mar 2015
 South Africa will be a main focus at the African Film Festival of Cordoba (FCAT), a festival devot

Dubai production company opens SA branch

Mon, 16 Mar 2015
 As well as having a successful presence in Dubai over the last nine years, Rolling Thunder, a full

NFVF releases box office report

Wed, 11 Mar 2015
 The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) continually conducts research into varying aspects of

SA short to feature at Cannes

Wed, 04 Mar 2015
 Short, Film, CornerThe Man with the Heavy Leg has been selected to appear as part of the 2015 Cannes Short Film Corner.

South African producer wins an Oscar

Wed, 25 Feb 2015
 Ida, a film co-produced by Eric Abraham – owner and founding producer of the Fugard Theatre in Cape

Shield and Spear documentary screens in SA

Wed, 18 Feb 2015
 Shield and Spear, by US filmmaker Petter Ringbom, will have its Johannesburg premiere at The Bios

Make-up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards winners announced

Mon, 16 Feb 2015
 The Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild (MUAHS) has announced the winners of its annual awards

Two SA shorts feature at Rotterdam Film Festival

Thu, 12 Feb 2015
 Two films by Johannesburg visual artist and filmmaker Michael MacGarry, Excuse me, while I disappe

Mickey Dube’s feature film The Coma gets NFVF funding

Wed, 11 Feb 2015
 South African director Mickey Madoda Dube’s anticipated feature film The Coma has received funding f

Canadian-based filmmaker puts Djibouti on the cinematic map

Mon, 09 Feb 2015
 Lula Ali Ismail is a Canadian-based filmmaker originally from Djibouti...

The world’s youngest filmmaker

Mon, 09 Feb 2015
 Twelve-year-old Nigerian-born Zuriel Oduwole made history recently when she became the youngest pe

Ster-Kinekor hosts Fifty Shades of Grey pre-screening

Thu, 05 Feb 2015
 Fifty Shades of Grey, starring Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan as Ana and Mr Grey, releases locally

Documentaries and Oscar nominated shorts feature at the Bioscope

Wed, 04 Feb 2015
 animation, action, South, AfricaIn February the Bioscope Independent Cinema in Johannesburg screens Unearthed, Shield and Spear as

Sense Africa – a Foster brothers retrospective

Tue, 03 Feb 2015
 Sense Africa is an overview of the past, and ongoing work of two of South Africa’s leading documenta

Mooirivier to open nationwide on 6 February

Mon, 02 Feb 2015
 Kaapland Films brings local audiences the romantic comedy Mooirivier...

Strikdas set for release on 3 April 2015

Fri, 30 Jan 2015
 In Strikdas– ‘n Familie Gedoente’ a new comedy from Stefan Nieuwoudt, Kaz McFadden plays Don ‘Vossie
SITEMAP