Film

FILM NEWS

New distribution deal for South African filmmakers


Thu, 23 Jun 2016
 SAGMP Films in association with the company’s American partner are in the process of clinching a dis

African Screen Network developing African audiences


Wed, 22 Jun 2016
 The African Screen Network (ASN) has launched a new distribution initiative to grow African audience

Cameras roll on Khalo Matabane’s 28’s in KwaZulu Natal


Mon, 20 Jun 2016
 Award-winning director, Khalo Matabane, has begun shooting his latest feature '28’s', a gritty expos

Previous DFM project ‘Alison’ due for theatrical release this August


Sun, 19 Jun 2016
 Director Ugh Carlini's latest film 'Alison', a previous DFM project, has been confirmed for theatric

Using short films to build brand and audience


Sat, 18 Jun 2016
 Todd Brown, of Los Angeles-based XYZ Films, presented a session exploring how filmmakers can use sho

Durban filmmaker returns to DIFF with 'Radio Rats' documentary


Tue, 14 Jun 2016
 'Jiving and Dying - The Radio Rats Story' sees Durban filmmaker Michael Cross return to the Durban I

NFVF calls for submissions for the Emerging Black Filmmakers Transformation Fund


Thu, 09 Jun 2016
 NFVF and IDC are inviting emerging black filmmakers to submit proposals for the Emerging Black Filmm

‘Kalushi’ to screen at Durban International Film Festival 2016


Tue, 07 Jun 2016
 'Kalushi', the South African film about the life of freedom fighter Solomon Mahlangu, is scheduled t

'Nobody’s Died Laughing' set to have world premiere at DIFF


Mon, 06 Jun 2016
 'Nobody’s Died Laughing' celebrates the life and work of performing artist and activist Pieter-Dirk

'Wonder Boy for President' to have world premiere at DIFF


Fri, 03 Jun 2016
 The world premiere of John Barker’s new mockumentary 'Wonder Boy for President' will take place at t

‘Comatose’ explores the African perspective on euthanasia


Thu, 02 Jun 2016
 1Take Media has begun production on 'Comatose,' a dramatic Afro-futurism feature film set to be rele

Ster-Kinekor's #OpenEyes campaign funds double corneal transplant


Fri, 27 May 2016
 Ster-Kinekor through Vision Mission, have for the past ten years been responsible for giving the gif

‘Noem My Skollie’ due for theatrical release this September


Thu, 26 May 2016
 The film, set in the Cape Flats and in Pollsmoor prison, is based on the life of scriptwriter John W

Al Jazeera-Encounters Pitching Forum call for submissions


Tue, 24 May 2016
 Deadline for submissions is on or before 16h00 (South African time), Friday, 27 May 2016...

Urucu announces five filmmakers chosen for REALNESS scriptwriting residency


Fri, 20 May 2016
 At a recent event in Cannes, Urucu Media announced the selection of five emerging African screenwrit

New IMAX® theatre opens at Mall of Africa


Thu, 19 May 2016
 The opening of the seventh IMAX® theatre in South Africa in just over three years is testament to th

Author of six books at age 26 seeks funds for NYFA


Wed, 18 May 2016
 Last year Soweto born 26 year old author, Nonhlanhla Mnisi celebrated her personal milestone of havi

Official DFM project selection for the 7th Durban FilmMart


Tue, 17 May 2016
 Nineteen documentaries and fiction feature film projects from around Africa have been selected for t

‘Lost Tongue’ documentary set to have its SA premiere at Encounters


Fri, 13 May 2016
 Following a successful New York premiere in March, 'Lost Tongue' is finally set to be showcased in S

New Afrikaans film unites two stars on the big screen


Mon, 09 May 2016
 South African film sees the onscreen reunion of two SA actors, Sandra Prinsloo and Marius Weyers...

Film takes viewers on a musical journey from a mine shaft to centre stage


Fri, 06 May 2016
 From the producers of Inside Story comes a feature-length film combining fiction and non-fiction sto

Hot Docs and Blue Ice partner with The New York Times Op-Docs to support African documentary filmmakers


Wed, 04 May 2016
 Hot Docs and Blue Ice Group announced an exciting new collaboration with The New York Times Op-Docs.

The Miller/Packan Documentary Film Fund now open for submissions


Wed, 04 May 2016
 The Rogovy Foundation funds projects that are transformational, with enlightening narratives and ins

First Wednesday Film Club presents ‘Run Lola Run’


Fri, 29 Apr 2016
 On 4 May 2016, at Atlas Studios in Johannesburg the First Wednesday Film Club will air 'Run Lola Run

Pearl Thusi lands major role in upcoming international film


Thu, 28 Apr 2016
 South African presenter and actress Pearl Thusi has landed a major role in upcoming international he
SITEMAP