BUSINESS - POLICY - LEGISLATION NEWS

Documentary filmmakers don’t understand SA’s copyright law

Wed, 20 Aug 2014
 A public briefing was held on 18 August in an attempt to better understand rights as users and creat

IDC, NFVF and DTI announce new fund to promote black filmmakers

Mon, 18 Aug 2014
 At a DFM press conference a new filmmaking finance mechanism, the Emerging Black Filmmakers Transfor

DA calls for focus on SA film industry

Thu, 14 Aug 2014
 The DA has called upon the South African Minister of Small Business, Lindiwe Zulu, to prioritise t

Rob Davies visits US to boost film industry support

Tue, 12 Aug 2014
 The Minister of Trade and Industry is currently in LA visiting major film studios in an attempt to p

Fintech makes Trees of Life documentary series possible

Tue, 12 Aug 2014
 Fintech finance solutions have made it possible for Obsessively Creative to start filming a new tele

Rupert Murdoch withdraws bid to purchase Time Warner

Wed, 06 Aug 2014
 After much speculation media tycoon and CEO of Twenty-First Century Fox Rupert Murdoch...

ICASA invites discussion on SA TV and radio content regulations

Mon, 04 Aug 2014
 Changing technologies and developments in the broadcasting sphere have led to the ICASA undertakin

M-Net announces the launch of Film Academy

Thu, 31 Jul 2014
 M-Net has announced that it will launch its own Film Academy in of 2015, as part of its corporate so

South African DTI production and post-production incentives

Tue, 29 Jul 2014
 The DTI has developed incentives to attract international investment and production as well as to as

IDC and NFVF announce new initiative to promote black filmmakers

Mon, 21 Jul 2014
 The IDC and the NFVF have announced a new initiative targeting local filmmakers and producers...

NFVF shows continued support to DIFF

Mon, 21 Jul 2014
 The NFVF will have a valuable presence at DIFF, which is currently running until 27 July 2014 at nin

Videovision Entertainment a loyal sponsor to DFM

Sat, 19 Jul 2014
 Videovision Entertainment, SA's premier film and distribution company, will present their esteemed R

The National Film and Video Foundation participates at the Grahamstown National Arts Festival

Fri, 11 Jul 2014
 The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) is once again participating at the National Arts Fes

Rupert Murdoch shows interest in acquiring Time Warner

Thu, 10 Jul 2014
 Rupert Murdoch, media mogul and CEO of Twenty-First Century Fox, has demonstrated his intent to expa

SABC settles on a new COO

Wed, 09 Jul 2014
 Following recommendations from the SABC board, Communications Minister Faith Muthambi has announced

NFVF announces new council

Wed, 02 Jul 2014
 In early June, a very short time after the swearing in of the new Minister of Arts and Culture, Mr

NFVF seeks tender proposals

Mon, 30 Jun 2014
 The National Film and Video Foundation is seeking proposals for an audience research tender...

SABC instructed by communications minister to appoint new CEO

Wed, 25 Jun 2014
 Newly appointed communications minister Faith Muthambi announced a number of objectives she will b

CNN International appoints new regional sales vice president

Fri, 20 Jun 2014
 advertising, sales, business, brandCNN International has appointed Antonio Canto to build on the channel’s commercial success in Southe

IBC President dies

Tue, 17 Jun 2014
 John Wilson, longstanding chairman of the International Broadcasting Convention (IBC) passed away

A message from the GFC

Wed, 11 Jun 2014
 The Gauteng Film Commission would like to thank all industry individuals and organisations for havin

New NFVF council members announced

Mon, 09 Jun 2014
 objectives, Arts, Culture, leadershipThe National Film and Video Foundation have announced new council members, appointed by the Minister

SACAA sets the record straight regarding the use of unmanned aircraft systems

Thu, 05 Jun 2014
 ban, Civil, Aviation, regulationsOn 3 June the South African Civil Aviation Authority (SACAA) released a statement in response to rec

In memoriam: Gregory John Walsh

Mon, 02 Jun 2014
 At the end of April, the broadcasting industry was rocked by the tragic death of Greg Walsh of Pro

Siyabonga Cwele named new minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services

Mon, 26 May 2014
 Communications, Zuma, Cabinet, Secrecy, BillFollowing his inauguration, President Jacob Zuma announced the members of his new Cabinet on 25 May,
SITEMAP