BUSINESS - POLICY - LEGISLATION NEWS

MultiChoice appoints David Booth as chief content officer

Tue, 03 Mar 2015
 MultiChoice Africa has announced the appointment of David Booth as chief content officer...

A+E Networks sets up Johannesburg office

Mon, 16 Feb 2015
 A+E Networks is establishing a Johannesburg office enhancing its commitment to growth in Africa...

Kodak finalises motion picture film agreements with major Hollywood studios

Thu, 05 Feb 2015
 Kodak announced that it has finalised new film supply agreements with all six major Hollywood studio

ANC in favour of encrypted STB’s

Thu, 05 Feb 2015
 At its annual strategy meeting or lekgotla, the ANC confirmed its support for encrypted set-top boxe

Business Model Canvas Tool for South African filmmakers

Fri, 30 Jan 2015
 The 2015 Durban FilmMart runs from 17 to 24 July and will host business model workshops for local fi

RGB Networks acquired by Imagine Communications

Tue, 27 Jan 2015
 Imagine Communications has signed an agreement to acquire the assets of RGB Networks...

Richard Waldner to strengthen partner sales for Imagine Communications

Mon, 19 Jan 2015
 Imagine Communications announced that it has appointed Richard Waldner to the role of director, chan

The future of African broadcasting – ‘Interesting times’

Fri, 16 Jan 2015
 Africa’s slow and troubled movement towards DTT and the looming June 2015 deadline for the complet

NFVF resignations an opportunity for new momentum

Fri, 16 Jan 2015
 A recent spate of resignations at the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) set off a wave of

Canadian broadcaster secures distribution rights for EbonyLife TV

Wed, 14 Jan 2015
 EbonyLife TV, Africa's first global black entertainment and lifestyle network, will soon be availa

Christie acquires coolux

Fri, 09 Jan 2015
 Christie, a visual displays and audio technologies supplier, has acquired Cologne-based coolux...

Mark Young appointed senior vice president distribution, UK, Africa and Ireland for Sony Pictures Television

Thu, 08 Jan 2015
 Mark Young has been named senior vice president of distribution, UK, Africa and Ireland for Sony Pic

DA scrutinises set-top-box tender

Wed, 07 Jan 2015
 A R4.3 billion rand deal for the provision and delivery of five million set-top-boxes has come und

The SABC appoints James Aguma as chief financial officer

Tue, 06 Jan 2015
 The SABC announced that James Aguma has been appointed as the corporation’s chief financial officer.

South Africa approaches online content censorship

Tue, 09 Dec 2014
 The Film and Publications Board (FPB) plans to extend its regulatory reach to the digital space...

ICASA extends submissions for RFSAP

Wed, 26 Nov 2014
 ICASA released a statement informing all stakeholders and the media that following a number of reque

Tencent boosts Naspers’ profit

Tue, 25 Nov 2014
 Naspers said first-half earnings increased 39% in e-commerce, TV and the contribution from Hong Kong

NFVF to attend 42nd International Emmy Awards

Wed, 19 Nov 2014
 The National Film and Video Foundation(NFVF) will be traveling to the 42nd International Emmy Awards

SOS and SASFED propose changes to ICASA local content regulations

Mon, 17 Nov 2014
 In mid-2014, the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA) announced that it wo

Okuhle Media completes recruitment drive for 2014

Tue, 04 Nov 2014
 Okuhle Media has employed five new people, promoted nine more and transferred four from within its w

Sony lowers full-year forecast

Fri, 31 Oct 2014
 On Friday, 24 October 2014, Sony Corp. reported a narrowed loss at its film unit, but a wider overal

CANAL+ Overseas to acquire majority stake in Thema distributers

Thu, 30 Oct 2014
 CANAL+ Overseas has signed an agreement with Thema to acquire a majority stake of the company’s capi

Golding resigns from e.tv

Wed, 29 Oct 2014
 Following a dismissed appeal Hosken Consolidated Investments (HCI) chairman and e.tv CEO Marcel Gold

Thandeka Zwana appointed as business manager for Film Finances SA

Wed, 29 Oct 2014
 Film Finances South Africa announces the appointment of Thandeka Zwana as business manager in Johan

Golding claims HCI suspension is result of overriding political agenda

Fri, 24 Oct 2014
 In an affidavit lodged with the Cape Town Labour Court, Hosken Consolidated Investments (HCI) chai
SITEMAP