BUSINESS - POLICY - LEGISLATION NEWS

Telstra to acquire Globecast Australia

Wed, 25 Mar 2015
 Telstra has announced that it will acquire Globecast Australia, which provides media services for br

SA invited to present draft regulations on RPAS

Tue, 24 Mar 2015
 The International Civil Aviation Organisation is hosting a Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems Symposi

Discovery Networks appoints commercial director for Africa

Thu, 19 Mar 2015
 Discovery Networks CEEMEA has announced the appointment of Debbie Brady as commercial director for A

Paramount names Marc Evans president of Motion Picture Group

Tue, 17 Mar 2015
 Marc Evans has been named president of Paramount’s Motion Picture Group, where he will be tasked wit

DoC to release final digital migration policy

Tue, 17 Mar 2015
 The Department of Communications is set to publish the final Broadcasting Digital Migration (BDM)

The SABC and SAPS sign a memorandum of understanding

Mon, 16 Mar 2015
 The SABC and SAPS signed a Memorandum of Understanding that will help both parties to highlight and

Cape Film Commission moves into new premises

Wed, 11 Mar 2015
 Cape, Film, Commission, KnysnaFrom 23 March 2015, the Cape Film Commission will be situated at Unit D14 Westlake Square, Westlak

SA drafts RPAS regulations

Mon, 09 Mar 2015
 The process of drafting regulations for Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS) has now been comple

MultiChoice appoints David Booth as chief content officer

Tue, 03 Mar 2015
 MultiChoice Africa has announced the appointment of David Booth as chief content officer...

A+E Networks sets up Johannesburg office

Mon, 16 Feb 2015
 A+E Networks is establishing a Johannesburg office enhancing its commitment to growth in Africa...

NFVF releases delayed Q3 funding decisions

Tue, 10 Feb 2015
 On 26 January, South Africa’s National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) announced its funding outc

Kodak finalises motion picture film agreements with major Hollywood studios

Thu, 05 Feb 2015
 Kodak announced that it has finalised new film supply agreements with all six major Hollywood studio

ANC in favour of encrypted STB’s

Thu, 05 Feb 2015
 At its annual strategy meeting or lekgotla, the ANC confirmed its support for encrypted set-top boxe

Business Model Canvas Tool for South African filmmakers

Fri, 30 Jan 2015
 The 2015 Durban FilmMart runs from 17 to 24 July and will host business model workshops for local fi

RGB Networks acquired by Imagine Communications

Tue, 27 Jan 2015
 Imagine Communications has signed an agreement to acquire the assets of RGB Networks...

Richard Waldner to strengthen partner sales for Imagine Communications

Mon, 19 Jan 2015
 Imagine Communications announced that it has appointed Richard Waldner to the role of director, chan

The future of African broadcasting – ‘Interesting times’

Fri, 16 Jan 2015
 Africa’s slow and troubled movement towards DTT and the looming June 2015 deadline for the complet

NFVF resignations an opportunity for new momentum

Fri, 16 Jan 2015
 A recent spate of resignations at the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) set off a wave of

Canadian broadcaster secures distribution rights for EbonyLife TV

Wed, 14 Jan 2015
 EbonyLife TV, Africa's first global black entertainment and lifestyle network, will soon be availa

Christie acquires coolux

Fri, 09 Jan 2015
 Christie, a visual displays and audio technologies supplier, has acquired Cologne-based coolux...

Mark Young appointed senior vice president distribution, UK, Africa and Ireland for Sony Pictures Television

Thu, 08 Jan 2015
 Mark Young has been named senior vice president of distribution, UK, Africa and Ireland for Sony Pic

DA scrutinises set-top-box tender

Wed, 07 Jan 2015
 A R4.3 billion rand deal for the provision and delivery of five million set-top-boxes has come und

The SABC appoints James Aguma as chief financial officer

Tue, 06 Jan 2015
 The SABC announced that James Aguma has been appointed as the corporation’s chief financial officer.

South Africa approaches online content censorship

Tue, 09 Dec 2014
 The Film and Publications Board (FPB) plans to extend its regulatory reach to the digital space...

ICASA extends submissions for RFSAP

Wed, 26 Nov 2014
 ICASA released a statement informing all stakeholders and the media that following a number of reque
SITEMAP