BUSINESS - POLICY - LEGISLATION NEWS

South Africa approaches online content censorship

Tue, 09 Dec 2014
 The Film and Publications Board (FPB) plans to extend its regulatory reach to the digital space...

ICASA extends submissions for RFSAP

Wed, 26 Nov 2014
 ICASA released a statement informing all stakeholders and the media that following a number of reque

Tencent boosts Naspers’ profit

Tue, 25 Nov 2014
 Naspers said first-half earnings increased 39% in e-commerce, TV and the contribution from Hong Kong

NFVF to attend 42nd International Emmy Awards

Wed, 19 Nov 2014
 The National Film and Video Foundation(NFVF) will be traveling to the 42nd International Emmy Awards

SOS and SASFED propose changes to ICASA local content regulations

Mon, 17 Nov 2014
 In mid-2014, the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA) announced that it wo

Okuhle Media completes recruitment drive for 2014

Tue, 04 Nov 2014
 Okuhle Media has employed five new people, promoted nine more and transferred four from within its w

Sony lowers full-year forecast

Fri, 31 Oct 2014
 On Friday, 24 October 2014, Sony Corp. reported a narrowed loss at its film unit, but a wider overal

CANAL+ Overseas to acquire majority stake in Thema distributers

Thu, 30 Oct 2014
 CANAL+ Overseas has signed an agreement with Thema to acquire a majority stake of the company’s capi

Golding resigns from e.tv

Wed, 29 Oct 2014
 Following a dismissed appeal Hosken Consolidated Investments (HCI) chairman and e.tv CEO Marcel Gold

Thandeka Zwana appointed as business manager for Film Finances SA

Wed, 29 Oct 2014
 Film Finances South Africa announces the appointment of Thandeka Zwana as business manager in Johan

Golding claims HCI suspension is result of overriding political agenda

Fri, 24 Oct 2014
 In an affidavit lodged with the Cape Town Labour Court, Hosken Consolidated Investments (HCI) chai

Hosken Consolidated Investments suspends Marcel Golding

Thu, 23 Oct 2014
 On 22 October 2014, Hosken Consolidated Investments (HCI) announced the suspension of its executive

Times Media Films enters distribution deal with CodeBlack Films

Tue, 21 Oct 2014
 Lionsgate, Nu Metro, Ster-Kinekor, African-AmericanCodeBlack Films, a division of Lionsgate, has entered into an agreement with Times Media Films...

EVS announces interim CEO

Mon, 13 Oct 2014
 Muriel De Lathouwer has been appointed temporarily as president of the executive committee at EVS...

Ross Video opens EMEA headquarters at Pinewood Studios

Mon, 13 Oct 2014
 Production technology providers Ross Video announced the opening of the company’s latest facility in

Milk & Honey Films opens an office in Cape Town

Wed, 08 Oct 2014
 Milk & Honey Films – an international production services company – has opened their latest branch o

Wananchi Group secures $130m expansion capital

Tue, 07 Oct 2014
 The Wananchi Group has secured $130 million which will go towards expansion in East and Southern A

Tim Richards appointed as IBC chairman

Tue, 07 Oct 2014
 IBC has named Tim Richards as the next chairman of its Partnership Board...

DFO names first development programme grantees

Fri, 03 Oct 2014
 The Durban Film Office announced the first grantees of its Micro Budget and Development Fund Progr

PANA TV CEO leaves to set up African content distributor

Thu, 02 Oct 2014
 Mandy Roger left as CEO of PANA TV to launch an African content aggregating and distribution company

Sophie Turner Laing to head merged Endemol and Shine

Wed, 01 Oct 2014
 Former BSkyB managing director of content, Sophie Turner Laing, is to become chief executive of the

First motion capture studio opens in East Africa

Mon, 22 Sep 2014
 Africa Digital Media Academy has opened the first motion capture studio in East Africa...

Rob Davies announces R1m incentive programme for emerging black filmmakers

Fri, 19 Sep 2014
 Minister of Trade and Industry Rob Davies announced a R1 million incentive programme for emerging bl

Warner Bros. Entertainment set to make major job cuts

Thu, 18 Sep 2014
 As part of a studio-wide cost-cutting move, Warner Bros. Entertainment is expected to cut almost 1 0

GFC appoints a new CEO

Wed, 17 Sep 2014
Andile Mbeki Andile Mbeki, an entrepreneur, youth activist and community leader has been appointed as CEO of the
SITEMAP